Home > Short Story, Writing > My short story is now available to read

My short story is now available to read

I was happy to be included in this year’s Halloween edition of the Siren’s Call eZine (click here to download the pdf), published by Siren’s Call Publications.

October Siren's Call eZine

Siren’s Call eZine

If you’re in the mood for some post-Halloween chills, or just want to read my story — The Patch Beyond the Hill — download the eZine and check it out. For any who do, please let me know what you think of the story.

–dp

  1. November 7, 2014 at 5:07 am

    Hey, congratulations, Dave! I’ve downloaded the story and will enjoy it a bit later today–after my owns writing time! The publication looks to be full of wonderful and chilling pieces of fright! Thanks for sharing. 🙂
    Mark

    • November 7, 2014 at 11:01 am

      Thanks, Mark. Hope you like it. It might not be the genre for everyone, but I appreciate that you’re going to read it and hope you find it, if nothing else, a reasonably well written piece.

  2. November 7, 2014 at 6:12 am

    Done!

    I’m so excited to read it 🙂

    • November 7, 2014 at 11:02 am

      Hope you like it, Katie … I know it’s a bit outside your usual genre, so thanks for taking the time to read it.

  3. November 7, 2014 at 7:55 am

    Congrats Dave, I’ll be sure to download and read it later today 🙂

  4. November 7, 2014 at 4:01 pm

    Congrats on your success, Dave! That’s so awesome – I know a famous author 🙂 Very cool. I’ll download the zine and check out your story when I’m at a computer. Again, congrats! Can’t wait to read it.

    • November 7, 2014 at 4:01 pm

      This is Elle Chambers by the way.

      • November 7, 2014 at 9:58 pm

        Ha ha … yes, I knew it was you, Elle. It hasn’t been that long 🙂 Hope you like the story.

      • November 8, 2014 at 6:32 pm

        I really did like it. I thought you got the atmosphere just right and the scene of Joey’s demise was really well done…delightfully twisted (hee – see what I did there?).

        Great job! This was a very good story.

      • November 9, 2014 at 10:03 am

        Thanks so much for reading the story, Elle. I really do appreciate that you took the time to do that. Like I mentioned to Marie, the atmosphere for the story was one of the things I most wanted to capture, it seems that I did. So I’m very happy with that. Glad you enjoyed that scene with Joey … and twisted would be a great way to describe his demise 🙂

        Thanks again for reading, and glad you liked it!

  5. November 8, 2014 at 10:57 am

    Just downloaded and read your story, Dave. I am very glad I read it in the soft light of mid-afternoon, far away from pumpkins 🙂 So, Eric’s job is to bring new playmates to the pumpkin patch and then his guilt plays him like a violin … or maybe he’s not imagining the visitors to his bedroom, maybe they are messing with him, like kids do. Joey’s death was horrifying but I’m glad you didn’t go overboard on the gore and violence, just enough to make my stomach tighten and my heart beat faster. And you capture the dynamics between the boys so well, the one baiting, the other (desperate for a friend) taking the bait. Really well done. So glad to see you published!

    • November 9, 2014 at 9:55 am

      Thank you so much for taking the time to read the story, Marie. Means a lot, especially during November and NaNoWriMo time. I know that time can be in short supply.

      I like your interpretation(s) of the story and how it can play out differently depending upon your perspective. While I write dark fiction/horror, generally speaking I don’t go for the gore (or gross out as King would call it). Sometimes it works and is necessary, but not in this case. I’m happy that amount I used seemed appropriate.

      Probably the one thing I most wanted to capture in this story was the atmosphere and the dynamics of two young boys. Thank you for confirming that for me, and for your wonderful compliments.

  6. November 12, 2014 at 7:18 pm

    Hey, Dave. Sorry it took so long to read this, but I haven’t been able to spend as much time around WordPress as I used to. Anyway, congrats on the story. It’s a good-looking ‘zine, and your story fits the season so well. Small-town America horror stories are so relatable, especially for a guy like me who used to ride his bike around and was all about visiting creepy places. I confess to having wished I would find a skeleton in the woods when I was young.

    Hopefully landing this story inspires you to send out more material. The digital age sure makes it easier to share this stuff too. I look forward to your next monsterpiece!

    • November 14, 2014 at 2:34 pm

      Hi Eric – hey, no problem. I appreciate that you took the time to read *and* to comment. Means a lot to me. I’m glad to hear your take on the story is so much how I intended it to come across. It’s how I grew up, and how I spent my childhood years. Me and my friends were always riding around on our bikes, and sometimes we would go places we shouldn’t. In fact, I have another story that revolves around another time we came across something creepy. I’d like to submit that one once it’s polished up 🙂

      Appreciate your blog and your encouragement, Eric. Hope to reading more of your work soon.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

