Home > Life > On life: what is the real world?

On life: what is the real world?

For quite a while now I’ve been wondering about whether social media — Facebook in particular — is as great as everyone seems to think it is. Yeah, I check Facebook multiple times a day, as well as reddit.com. I do lurk on Instagram occasionally, and blog semi-regularly :-). But Facebook … there’s something about Facebook that just eats at me every time I get on and scan the latest updates. I have some theories about what it is that bothers me, but rather than get up on my soapbox and try to express them, I thought I’d share a short film that, to me, pretty much conveys how I feel about it. What do you think? Is the tag line for the video accurate?

What’s wrong with social media

Not to mention that every minute on Facebook is one minute I’m unable to spend writing πŸ™‚

–dp

  1. DJ
    July 6, 2014 at 6:17 pm

    Oh my goodness…this is as perfect as it gets. Lol.

  2. July 6, 2014 at 7:32 pm

    Sad but funny. The problem with Facebook is that it encourages you to compare yourself to others, and nothing good comes from comparing yourself to others. I see my friends and acquaintances real lives vs. the social media representation of their lives, and those are two rather different realities.

    I suppose if I ever publish a novel I will have to promote it on FB, but for now I’m content without it.

  3. July 6, 2014 at 7:49 pm

    Oh, that’s sad. 😦 I don’t invest that much time in FB to let it bug me in that way. I get more frustrated with it because of the ads and because it wants me to pay to promote posts on my public page. I don’t do that, so my reach isn’t very big for most of my posts. But c’est la vie. There’s always Twitter… πŸ˜‰

  4. Ashley
    July 7, 2014 at 8:28 am

    Facebook eats up a lot of time! The problem is most people I know don’t use email anymore, and hardly anyone calls or texts. At the expensive of sounding slightly pathetic I’d have hardly anyone to talk to if I didn’t check that stupid social media site sometimes. A lot of stay at home moms I know to them, Facebook is the only “social” interaction they get because they never get out of the house. πŸ™‚ I do agree those we need to start shying away from it and forming real personal friendships, ect.

  5. July 7, 2014 at 7:03 pm

    That was a powerful video. Very sad and, no doubt, very true. I’ve had a FB account for years, simply because my nephew’s wife started posting pictures of the kids to it. I spend maybe 10 to 15 minutes a day on FB, maybe less. In my darkest moments, I’ve been like that guy in the video. That’s why I spend so little time on FB πŸ˜‰

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

