Home > Short Story, Writing > On editing: red pen and printed copy

On editing: red pen and printed copy

Yep, that’s right. Once again, despite my lukewarm feelings about the first time I tried it, I’ve grabbed my trusty red pen and am ready to apply it (liberally) to a newly finished short story. It’s a tale about a young family’s car trip that takes them through an isolated stretch of highway running through the desert between their home in southern California and a family reunion in Phoenix, Arizona. Current working title: Road Trip

Red pen and hard copy of Road Trip - ready to edit

Red pen and hard copy of Road Trip – ready to edit

I hope to include it in my eventual collection of short dark fiction, Night Terrors. Time and editing will tell if the story is good enough to make it in. I’ll let everyone know how it goes.

Wish me luck.

–dp

ps – if you look closely, you’ll notice there’s already a coffee stain on the first page. Good start 🙂

  1. Ashley
    June 28, 2014 at 10:04 pm

    Nothing beats going over your own work with a pen and a printed copy! I was amazed at the amount of errors I missed while reviewing my story on the computer screen. Good luck to you!

    • June 28, 2014 at 10:08 pm

      Thanks, Ashley! It definitely is a different way of looking at your work, and it does find problems. I think my problem is I just get used to how quickly changes can be made on the computer that I get frustrated with how slow I am on paper. Guess I can’t fault the method just because I get impatient 🙂

  2. June 29, 2014 at 12:03 am

    Good luck with your story. I hope I get to read it someday.

  3. June 29, 2014 at 3:32 am

    Good luck, Dave! I find more errors in printed copies than on the computer. I’m with you on how slow and frustrating it can be, though. :/

  4. June 29, 2014 at 7:44 am

    Good luck with that red pen, Dave!

    • June 30, 2014 at 9:45 pm

      Thanks, Mark! I need all the luck I can get 🙂

  5. June 29, 2014 at 10:26 am

    A story is never truly started until there’s a coffee stained page…anyway, good luck with your editing. Always a fun process 😛

  6. June 30, 2014 at 6:20 am

    I think it’s awesome to make a tactile experience out of writing! Let us know how it goes.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

