Home > Melancholy Monday > Melancholy Monday: Ghost in this House (Alison Krauss)

Melancholy Monday: Ghost in this House (Alison Krauss)

Alison Krauss loves sad songs. The sadder, the better, according to her when she spoke to the audience during a concert my wife and I were lucky enough to attend a few years back. She went on to say that if she was given a song and she liked it, the first thing she’d do is arrange it to make it as sad and depressing as she possibly could. Given her lengthy career and continued popularity, she’s good at it. And, based on what everyone knows about me, it makes her a good fit to be right there at the top of my melancholy playlist. One of her most depressing and sorrowful tunes is this wonderfully melancholic song, Ghost in this House.

A short sample from the chorus reveals the source of the pain in this song: a passionate love affair burned out, leaving but one lonely soul to ruminate on the emptiness of their life. These beautifully sad lyrics are complemented perfectly by an arrangement that heightens the torment of the broken hearted person left behind.

–dp

I’m just a whisper of smoke
I’m all that’s left of two hearts on fire
That once burned out of control
You took my body and soul
I’m just a ghost in this house

  1. May 19, 2014 at 9:29 am

    Love Alison Krauss! Not a bad song in her. What a voice! She definitely can bring out the “what-might-have-been” feelings through her music. Nice post, Dave. 🙂

    • May 20, 2014 at 8:20 pm

      Thanks, and I couldn’t agree more. If you haven’t seen her in concert yet, I’d highly recommend it. As good live as on CD. It’s amazing.

  2. May 19, 2014 at 9:47 am

    I haven’t heard of this artist. Thanks for the music clip. It’s a beautiful song, and she sounds wonderful live.

    • May 20, 2014 at 8:21 pm

      Carrie – I must admit I’m quite surprised that you’d never heard of her. I guess I can assume that you’re not a country music fan? Not that she’s really country music, but that’s where she’d sort of fit. She’s really more of a pop/bluegrass artist.

      • May 21, 2014 at 2:52 am

        Guilty as charged. No country music for me. 🙂

  3. May 19, 2014 at 10:41 am

    This song hits way too close to home for my liking, lol. Great artist though.

    • May 20, 2014 at 8:22 pm

      Yikes. Sorry to hear that, Elle. But glad you like Alison Krauss 🙂

  4. May 20, 2014 at 4:34 am

    Great choice, Dave. We saw Allison Krauss in concert a few years ago and then promptly bought a 2-CD live album. Ghost is one of her songs that I could play over and over, as long as I have a box of tissues nearby 🙂

    • May 20, 2014 at 8:23 pm

      Yes, we bought the live CD *and* DVD. That’s how much we like her. We hope to see her again if she gets out to the west coast this year. This is one of my favorite songs as well … and it’s a tearjerker.

  5. May 20, 2014 at 11:55 am

    Dave, I hope you are more cheerful in person than your music taste suggests! 😉

    Let me know if you need a good Motown mix or something. Thumping Thursday we’ll call it.

    Here’s some Martha and the Vandellas to get your foot tapping:

    • May 20, 2014 at 8:26 pm

      Haha – yes, Eric. Believe it or not, I’m quite a happy person. It’s just that I’ve got this melancholy streak in me that I like to bring out. Ok – here’s the deal. I’ll post a “happy” song before I post another melancholy one 🙂

      Nice song, by the way. It did, indeed, get my foot tapping!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

