Home > Melancholy Monday > Melancholy Monday: My Immortal (Evanescence)

Melancholy Monday: My Immortal (Evanescence)

My Immortal is a heartrending song. Its dolorous melody and haunting lyrics create an overwhelming sense of regret and despair. Some might categorize it as yet another tune about a broken relationship, but there’s really much more to this song than that. To paraphrase the songwriter, his intent was to convey the sting of death and the loss it inflicts on those left behind (the immortal). There are times, he thought, when the spirit of the departed can linger and haunt the one still living, until eventually the pain is so great, being left alone and feeling nothing of the one who passed seems a better alternative to the constant agony brought by their ever-present spirit/memory. Regardless of the interpretation, though, this song is the epitome of melancholy.

You used to captivate me by your resonating light
Now I’m bound by the life you left behind
Your face—it haunts my once pleasant dreams
Your voice—it chased away all the sanity in me

Here’s the song (and video) for any of you who’ve not yet heard it.

–dp

  1. April 21, 2014 at 7:33 am

    I’ve always loved that song. So haunting. Definitely evokes a certain emotion. Then again, all music does.

    • April 22, 2014 at 10:23 pm

      Doesn’t it? Some can bring me almost instantly to tears, some can lift me up and make me happy, some pensive, some can be energizing. Crazy how it can affect you. But, as you know, I sure do love these sad songs 🙂

  2. April 22, 2014 at 2:51 am

    This has been a favorite of mine for years and years! I’ve never actually seen the music video until now. Lindsay Stirling, a new, pretty fantastic violinist, does a remake of this song with a bigger emphasis on the violin and I love it.

    I’ve actually listened to this a few times while writing some sad songs. Thanks for the throwback!

    • April 22, 2014 at 10:20 pm

      Yep … been a favorite of mine since I first heard it in the movie, Daredevil (lots of people hated the movie but I kinda liked it myself). There’s another Evanescence version that leaves out the rock part at the end and has an acoustic solo, but I couldn’t find the video for that one.

      The Lindsay Stirling version was really nice. Liked it a lot. This song, either version, is perfect for getting in that sad, melancholy mood.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

