Home > Music > Mike Masse, The Pie Pizzeria, and amazing acoustic covers

Mike Masse, The Pie Pizzeria, and amazing acoustic covers

In February, while visiting with my son in Wisconsin, he mentioned a man by the name of Mike Masse. He asked if I’d ever heard of him. When I said no, he smiled and told me I just had to watch one of his videos. He told me I wouldn’t believe what I was going to see and hear, and you know what? He was right. Click on the link below to watch Mike Masse’s cover of the song, Africa.

Mike Masse’s acoustic cover of “Africa”

As I watched I couldn’t believe that two regular guys (both attorneys and friends since college) in a pizza joint called The Pie Pizzeria, located in Salt Lake City, Utah, could pull off what I just heard. It was nothing short of amazing. And every time I’ve watched this video since then, or watched one of their other covers (and they’ve done a lot of them … check them out here), I am still in awe at how good these two guys really are, especially Mike.

However, simply letting you know about these two isn’t the only reason I posted this. What I learned about one of these men (Mike Masse, the guitar player), was that his young song, Noah, was diagnosed with cancer back in 2012. At that time, knowing he had lots of followers on YouTube, he decided to try to help his son in a way he thought might make a difference. He created a touching video, where he talks about Noah and his diagnosis, and asks for donations (by purchasing a special song he’d recorded) to help with Noah’s treatment. If you’ve ever wondered what despair, sorrow, and feelings of utter helplessness and desperation look like, it’s all right there in Mike’s eyes. It is, as the article notes, heartbreaking. You can find the article and video here.

Fortunately, there is good news. Here’s what Mike posted on YouTube with the original song video:

Update (March 22, 2014): Noah is doing really great these days. He’s had clean MRI’s for a year, and is catching up on his walking and talking. He’s very loving, very happy, very cute, and very funny. We’re grateful for all of the support and prayers we’ve received. We love every day with him and look forward to every tomorrow. Love, Mike

What a wonderful way for this part of the story to end.

So, go check out Mike Masse on youtube and enjoy the great songs these two are playing. You’ll be glad you did. I’m following him on Facebook and right now, and in honor of March Madness, he’s doing brackets pitting various songs against each other, where the song with the most “likes” keeps advancing until there’s a final “winner” that he’ll cover. Should be fun, because there are some great songs to choose from.

–dp

  1. April 5, 2014 at 6:23 pm

    Wow, I haven’t been here for a visit in a long while and I’m glad I came by today, Dave. Thanks for sharing this man, music and touching story WITH a happy ending. I love happy endings. Hope all is well for you and yours.
    Patti

    • April 6, 2014 at 9:00 pm

      Hi Patti – thanks for stopping by and commenting. Glad you enjoyed the post and the music. I thought it was too great of a story not to share. It’s easy to get to following so many blogs you start missing things sometimes. Happy you didn’t miss this one, though.

      Family is doing well, btw … thank you for asking πŸ™‚

      • April 6, 2014 at 11:16 pm

        It was a great story! Every time I go to the WP reader I’m sunk…as far as getting anything else done. Glad the family is doing well and I look forward to reading more of your blogs.
        P

  2. April 5, 2014 at 6:41 pm

    Oh, Africa, one of my favorites songs. Thanks for sharing the link and the good news about Noah.
    Thanks, Dave, this brought a smile to my face.

    • April 6, 2014 at 9:02 pm

      I know … I absolutely love this song. And when I heard these two performing it with just a bass, a guitar, and a small PA system, well I was blown away. Glad it brought you a smile, Jill.

  3. April 5, 2014 at 7:12 pm

    Wow, they’re really good. Their voices sound incredible live, and their guitar playing’s wonderful, too. Glad his son is doing better.

    • April 6, 2014 at 9:04 pm

      They are incredible, aren’t they. What caught me off guard was how great they arrangement was for guitar and how their vocals were spot on. I was so very happy to learn that his little boy was doing better. I don’t know what the prognosis is for this disease, but I hope it’s good.

  4. April 5, 2014 at 10:08 pm

    Just terrific! The sparse applause at the end doesn’t do the performance justice… πŸ˜‰

    • April 6, 2014 at 9:06 pm

      I know. Can you believe that? I’ve never heard a couple of guys singing and playing this great in a pizza joint, and all these guys get is polite applause. Sheesh. If they ever come around my area, I’m going to go see them.

  5. April 6, 2014 at 3:29 pm

    Cool Rush T. The music ain’t bad, either.

    πŸ˜‰

    • April 6, 2014 at 9:05 pm

      Ha ha. I hadn’t even noticed the Rush T-shirt. Very cool. Hope you got a kick out of them doing their thing πŸ™‚

      • April 7, 2014 at 6:08 am

        I did get out my guitar and jam for a while.

  6. April 6, 2014 at 7:38 pm

    Really awesome. Thanks so much for sharing this, Dave!

    • April 6, 2014 at 9:08 pm

      You’re welcome, Marie. Glad you enjoyed it. I just couldn’t keep from sharing their story in general, and the story about Mike’s little boy. I was so touched by the video he made, especially how sad he looked it. Having had two boys myself, I can only imagine how it would have affected me.

  7. April 8, 2014 at 6:53 pm

    I lived in SLC for four years and worked as a pediatric nurse there . . . this name is incredibly familiar . . . just maybe . . .

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

