Home > Life, Throwback Thursday > Throwback Thursday: I was a teenage rock and roller

Throwback Thursday: I was a teenage rock and roller

It’s Thursday once again, and that means it’s time for an old post from the past, one that I wrote long before most everyone followed this blog. This one comes from my personal blog (you can find it here, at A Pagan In Name Only), though over time I’ve ended up posting most of my personal stuff here. Go figure. Anyway, for those who only know me from reading this blog, you might find this post from July 2, 2012, an interesting read.

Disappearing Childhood Dreams Meet the Present

–dp

  1. March 20, 2014 at 12:55 pm

    I’m impressed with the insight you had as a 19-year-old. Not many see reality and consequences so clearly at that age. Who knows what would have come from the road not taken? But I’d say you ended up with a pretty sweet deal as is (though I still can’t believe you’re a grandfather; you don’t look it!)

    • March 20, 2014 at 1:06 pm

      Aww, Carrie … that was really sweet. Thank you!

      Well, 19 seemed to be a pivotal year for me. I went from chasing high school dreams to planning the rest of my life within a short period of time. And all these years later, I really can’t see myself as having done anything else. I feel like a pretty lucky guy.

  2. March 20, 2014 at 1:16 pm

    Not to worry, I’m your biggest fan and you still fill my heart. Whether it’s playing the guitar, chatting with the children, playing legos with the grandkids, or sitting quietly with me. I’ll be your roadie for life. Love you.

    • March 21, 2014 at 1:15 am

      Thanks, sweetie. And I’m your biggest fan … Your beautiful voice, your wonderful way with all our kids, being the best Grammy ever, or best of all, just hanging out with me and being my wife. You’re all I need. Love you …

      • March 21, 2014 at 6:55 am

        Sorry to butt in, but:

        Awwwww…..

      • March 22, 2014 at 4:52 pm

        I know … Isn’t she sweet? 🙂

  3. March 20, 2014 at 1:21 pm

    As a product of your decision to settle down, I certainly don’t think you should have regrets 🙂

    Assuming I would have come around anyway, I am very thankful for how much time I had with you as a kid and wouldn’t change that for the world.

    • March 22, 2014 at 12:16 pm

      I have absolutely no regrets about settling down to a “normal” life. Wouldn’t trade my chance to be a father for anything in the world and am so thankful to have been able to spend the time I did with you. Fatherhood pretty much trumps everything else … even rock & roll fame 🙂

  4. March 20, 2014 at 1:29 pm

    As an addendum to my previous comment, I think you should re-check out Wikipedia:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Matt_Sorum#1960-1989:_Early_career

    That looks better.

    • March 22, 2014 at 12:17 pm

      Ha ha. Well, I like the way it looks anyway 🙂 And it is more historically accurate. Let’s see how long it lasts.

  5. March 20, 2014 at 4:18 pm

    I always figured you for a “long hair” back in the day. No doubt, you traveled the road meant for you, Dave. The best part, you got everything you wanted, but didn’t know you wanted, and you still get to play the guitar.

    • March 21, 2014 at 1:19 am

      Ha ha. Then I hit 19, cut it off, and went to college. There were lots of turns on the road, but I ended up exactly where I belong.

  6. March 21, 2014 at 6:56 am

    I should dig out some long-hair pics and post them for a laugh.

    • March 22, 2014 at 4:51 pm

      Yes. Do it, Eric. Bring out the hair! I’m sure you look very cool.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

