Home > Short Story, Writing > On writing: submitting another short story

On writing: submitting another short story

I recently found out that Cemetery Dance Publications, one of my favorite publishers of dark fiction and horror, is accepting submissions for one remaining slot in their upcoming publication, October Dreams 2, an anthology of Halloween-themed short stories. So of course, I can’t resist … I must submit a story, despite the overwhelming odds against acceptance (I wrote about my first submission/rejection here). But I’m okay with that, because as one of my blog friends reminded me when my last story was rejected, I’m aiming for the top, and acceptance into publications of this caliber is hard. So if ever one of my stories is accepted then it will mean even that much more.

Don’t get me wrong, though … I’ll still be disappointed if/when the rejection comes, but at least this time I’ll remember that I’m in the company of hundreds of other talented writers who also were rejected. There is some comfort in that πŸ™‚

So, off I go into my next big adventure. I’ll keep you all posted.

Wish me luck!

–dp

  1. March 11, 2014 at 11:13 am

    Good luck!!

  2. March 11, 2014 at 12:51 pm

    Good for you! Work can’t be accepted if it’s not submitted. Good luck!!

  3. March 12, 2014 at 9:23 am

    Good luck, DAve! And absolutely, keep looking forward! It’s important to never stop submitting πŸ™‚

  4. March 12, 2014 at 9:24 am

    100% of stories you don’t submit are not published!

    Good luck!

  5. March 12, 2014 at 5:52 pm

    Good for you, Dave! Give it your best shot and get it out there. Can’t wait to hear what you find out. πŸ™‚

  6. March 12, 2014 at 7:32 pm

    Thanks, everyone, for the support. I appreciate all of you. I’ll let you know the eventual outcome.

  7. March 14, 2014 at 9:43 pm

    Good luck!

  8. March 17, 2014 at 4:25 pm

    Ooooh, let us know how it works out for you!

    • March 17, 2014 at 5:34 pm

      I definitely will, Katie!

  9. March 20, 2014 at 6:16 pm

    I have to second Carrie and Eric’s comments: if you don’t submit, you can’t get accepted. Best of luck with this one, Dave. The fact that Brian Freeman commented on your post about the first rejection was pretty awesome. Makes me feel very hopeful for you πŸ™‚

    • March 24, 2014 at 11:53 am

      Absolutely, Marie. Thanks for the support and encouragement. Yeah, I still get a kick from that … I mean, I knew he was following my blog, but to get a comment on the post pretty much blew me away. Not sure if Brian will see this story. The stories were requested by Richard Chizmar, who’s the founder/editor of Cemetery Dance publications. I think there were a total of around 150 submissions, but it’s a very talented group so the competition is high. Won’t have to wait as long this time, though … he saw we’d find out in 2-3 weeks.

      Fingers crossed πŸ™‚

  1. March 18, 2014 at 9:49 pm

Leave a Reply

