Home > Family, Life, Melancholy Monday > Melancholy Monday: sad songs (The House That Built Me)

Melancholy Monday: sad songs (The House That Built Me)

Almost three years ago, I wrote a blog post about a song that touched upon a yearning I think most of us have at one time or another. It’s that desire to go back to simpler times, to those days when were kids with nothing more to worry about than growing up and what was for dinner. This song, for me, is bittersweet. It brings back so many wonderful memories, yet at the same time I feel an overwhelming sense of loss. If nostalgic were a genre of music (and perhaps it is), this would be right up there at the top of the list representing the category.

The original post can be found here.

For those who don’t want to go back to the old post, I can summarize it here: I took copies of my family’s old 8mm films, edited them together, and added the song, “The House That Built Me”, to the final video.

If you’re interested in a small slice of this person’s childhood while you’re listening to the song, you can watch the first video. Note: Of the two young boys you’ll see, I’m the younger (and I might say, cuter) of the two. Otherwise, you can watch the second video, which is the official one produced by the original artist, Miranda Lambert.

Obligatory disclaimer for those who eschew country music: Yes, this is a country song, but bear with me and give the song a listen anyway. It’s not a beer drinking, love my tractor, honky tonking, my wife left me kind of country tune. It’s actually quite touching, with lyrics I think many of us can identify with.

–dp

  1. March 10, 2014 at 9:53 am

    Oh, jeez, your home video montage is so beautiful with the music it’s making ME nostalgic. Isn’t it amazing what adding a soundtrack can do for those old videos? My son put one of our vacation videos to music, and it was such a treat to watch.

    • March 11, 2014 at 9:17 am

      I’m glad you liked it, Carrie. It was a very special project for me and I was happy with how it turned out. You’re right, there’s something about adding music to videos that makes them so much better. I surprised my family with the video and they all loved it, after the cried of course 🙂

      Thanks for watching it!

  2. March 10, 2014 at 3:04 pm

    Cool video, man. The edits were well-timed. And I made it all the way through a country song without grumbling!*

    *teasing.

    • March 11, 2014 at 9:21 am

      Thanks, Eric. I had so much fun working on this video. I’m glad you noticed the timing of the edits because I was trying to make sure they worked well with the music. Glad the music didn’t bother you too much 🙂 Thanks for watching it!

  3. March 10, 2014 at 3:30 pm

    You bastard! You made me cry!

    • March 11, 2014 at 9:27 am

      Thanks, Kevin … I think 🙂

      Anyway, I do appreciate you watching the video!

      • March 11, 2014 at 10:20 am

        I meant it in the best possible way… 😉

        Really nice job on the video editing too. Oh, also, I’m envious of you over that Lost In Space ship!

      • March 11, 2014 at 10:41 am

        I figured that you did 🙂 And thanks, that video was a very special project for me and I was quite happy with it.

        Man, that ship was so awesome. It even came with the little shuttle they used to drive around. I sure wish I’d kept track of where it ended up.

      • March 11, 2014 at 11:17 am

        yeah, I meant to ask… what was in the Lost in Space box???

      • March 11, 2014 at 11:42 am

        Just one of the coolest Christmas presents ever 🙂 The ship from Lost in Space and a shuttle to carry the crew around on whatever planet they landed on. I’m sure there was more in that box, but I can’t remember. Been too many years 😦

      • March 11, 2014 at 11:50 am

        Do you remember Space 1999 (maybe a little after your time??). I had the ship from that one and used to run around the house “flying” it all the time.

      • March 11, 2014 at 11:53 am

        I was teenager when it was on, so I wasn’t into the toys anymore. But I liked the show. Thought it was pretty cool at the time. If I’d been a bit younger I would definitely have wanted that ship! 🙂

      • March 11, 2014 at 11:56 am

        What are you talking about? I STILL want those ships!

        🙂

      • March 11, 2014 at 11:58 am

        LOL. Well, I didn’t want to admit that in front of everyone. But since you fessed up, I guess I can too 🙂

      • March 11, 2014 at 12:08 pm

        I’m a total dork at the Toy store. I always stop to look at the Star Wars stuff.

      • March 11, 2014 at 11:52 am

        As a bass player, you will probably dig the theme song. Not melancholy at all:

      • March 11, 2014 at 11:55 am

        Ahh … memories. Loved that opening song and montage. And yes, the bass is awesome in the theme. Man, wish I still had my old bass … suddenly I’ve got the urge to play it again 🙂

  4. March 20, 2014 at 6:12 pm

    Dave, your video was truly wonderful! The song was perfect for it, and, yes, it made me feel quite nostalgic (especially those side curls of your mom’s early in the video … yup, I remember trying to make my hair do that). It’s hard not to yearn for those “good old days.” As much as I love technology, it distresses me to see my grand-nephews prefer to play games on their parents’ phones than play with a ball or just run around.

    • March 21, 2014 at 1:25 am

      Thank you, Marie. Means a lot, as that video was very special to me. I fall easily into those nostalgic moods these days. No doubt that’s a side effect of reaching a certain age 🙂 is it true that the older we get the better those good old days become?

      I’d like to see kids access to technology limited more than it is. Seeing them with their noses glued to their phones is a pet peeve of mine.

      • March 21, 2014 at 4:55 am

        I didn’t have a happy childhood but I still pine for those days when life seemed simpler. A child lives in the here-and-now and I miss that. I remember that sick feeling I got when I realized that I was going to have to “do something with myself” when I graduated from high school 😉
        I was not happy to see my grandnephews and grandniece glued to cell phones and games, especially when we were all at a birthday party for my mom (their great-grand-mom) who had turned 90. I understand their parents (one is a single dad) have an uphill battle trying to control what their kids are exposed to, but then most of them are glued to their phones as well.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

