Home > Reading > On reading: micro fiction – two sentence horror stories

On reading: micro fiction – two sentence horror stories

In the past, I’ve seen a few good examples of scary stories told in just a couple of sentences, which is a pretty good trick to pull off with so few words. Here are some I read yesterday that are all new to me, so I thought I’d share them. I got a few pretty good chills. You know, the kind that tingle down the spine?

These are best read at night, preferably with as little light as possible, though I think they’re still good even when read during the day πŸ™‚ My personal favorites are 1, 5, and 10. What are yours? Read any other two sentence horror stories that you thought were good?

–dp

http://imgur.com/gallery/mrPZK

  1. March 6, 2014 at 11:35 am

    I did this a couple of days ago on KBoards:

    He lay bleeding in a tub of ice, his ex and mistress rinsing their hands in the bathroom sink. Now, both women had a piece of him.

    I should probably go back and read the ones on the original posting now to see which ones are my faves!

    – Elle Chambers

  2. March 6, 2014 at 12:37 pm

    Those are great. Loved the fourth and last one.

  3. March 7, 2014 at 5:19 am

    Have you heard about the six word story? You’re supposed to tell a story in six words (obviously). I heard about it on NPR the other day, and actually, it was really cool to listen to some of the ones people came up with. At first I thought it was just taking flash fiction to the extreme, of course πŸ˜‰

  4. March 7, 2014 at 11:13 am

    I really wish I hadn’t read these not long before going to bed on a stormy night!

    The best micro fiction though is the old one attributed to Hemingway:
    Baby shoes
    For sale
    Never worn

    Who knew heartbreak could be in six words?

  5. March 7, 2014 at 12:27 pm

    I liked them all!

  6. March 20, 2014 at 5:59 pm

    The 1st and 8th ones were my favorites, but I’m glad I was reading the list in a well-lighted room, with my husband nearby πŸ™‚

    • March 22, 2014 at 12:35 pm

      I know, right? I’d like to write some two sentence stories that are this good.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

