Home > Family, Life > On life: missing in action

On life: missing in action

So, have any of you out there wondered, “Hey, where’s Dave been?” Well, if you have, I’ve got an answer for you.

Recently, our seventh grandchild was born. Yeah, I know … seven grandchildren … hard to believe, especially for me because I certainly don’t feel old enough to even be a grandfather 🙂 But hey, get this … in May grandchild number eight arrives! Isn’t life just a kick in the head?

So on February 19th, my wife and I headed out to LaCrosse, Wisconsin and braved the dreaded polar vortex to introduce ourselves to our new granddaughter, Bronwyn Elizabeth. She is ridiculously cute and sweet, and her older brother, David, thinks she’s awesome. We returned late last Tuesday, and have pretty much just now returned to normal. I figured now would be the perfect time to pass along some proud grandfather pictures.

First off, here’s Bronwyn:

Bronwyn Elizabeth

Bronwyn Elizabeth

Here’s Bronwyn with her wonderful grandmother (affectionately referred to as Grammy). If there was ever an award for the world’s best grandmother, it would be for this lovely lady.

Bronwyn's Grammy

Bronwyn’s Grammy






















For David, who had to put up with all the fuss of a new kid in the house, Grammy and I decided he deserved a trip to Toys R Us. Here are the first two things he found. Not surprising for a kid who spends hours a day playing with dinosaurs and bugs 🙂

David

David

Here we are, the proud grandparents, just before we left the ice and snow to head back to California.

Pop, Grammy, David, and Bronwyn

Pop, Grammy, David, and Bronwyn


















We had a wonderful visit with our son and daughter-in-law. We’re looking forward to seeing them later this year after they move to Nashville so our son can complete his residency training at Vanderbilt University.

–dp

  1. March 1, 2014 at 9:46 pm

    Congratulations! Beautiful grandkids. Nice that you were able to visit them. 🙂

    • March 2, 2014 at 8:13 pm

      Thanks, Carrie. They are pretty good looking kids, right? 🙂 We were glad we had the chance to get out there when we did.

  2. March 1, 2014 at 10:10 pm

    She’s a cute baby. Wow, seven grandchildren. I currently have zero, but maybe that has something to do with my age… B-)

    • March 2, 2014 at 8:14 pm

      Ha ha … yeah, I think that just might be the case. Watch out, though. Before you know it you’ll find yourself facing the same situation 🙂 Not that it’s a bad thing, mind you. It just makes you wonder where in the world the time went.

      • March 2, 2014 at 9:16 pm

        I think about that a lot. Time’s definitely kicked it into high gear; now that I’ve reached my thirties, the weeks, months and years just seem to bleed into each other.

  3. March 2, 2014 at 4:22 am

    Congratulations to you and your family, Dave. Thanks for sharing and the photos.

    • March 2, 2014 at 8:15 pm

      Thanks, and you’re welcome. It’s always fun to share a little bit of what goes on in life.

  4. March 2, 2014 at 11:02 am

    Your grandbabies are so cute! Bronwyn is teeny tiny, but already has such a distinct face. I think she’s going to grow up to be quite the beauty so her brother better get ready to beat the boys off with sticks, lol.

    Seriously though, congrats on the new addition to your family! It’s always nice to see things like this, especially since I know I will never have a family of my own – it’s cool to see other people’s and how happy they are with one another. 🙂 You are very blessed, sir.

    – Elle Chambers

    • March 2, 2014 at 8:18 pm

      Thanks for all the sweet comments, Elle. I agree … her older brother will have his hands full, but I think he’s up to the task. And yes, I am indeed blessed. I try not to let myself forget that.

  5. March 2, 2014 at 11:24 am

    Congratulations, Dave! She’s beautiful and so is her name. Thanks for sharing the good news with us. 🙂

    • March 2, 2014 at 8:16 pm

      Thanks, Jill. She sure is a sweet girl. We were blessed, and we love her name as well!

  6. March 3, 2014 at 4:55 am

    Your grandkids are excellent reasons to be absent from WP 🙂 They are adorable! Thanks for sharing them with us.

    • March 3, 2014 at 9:28 am

      You’re quite welcome, Marie. After all, isn’t that what grandparents are supposed to do? Brag and show off their grandkids? Thank your for letting me do that 🙂

      • March 3, 2014 at 12:35 pm

        My sister has six grandkids (ages 4 to 12). Bragging is a big part of what grandparents do 🙂

  7. March 3, 2014 at 5:30 am

    For the record, I noticed you were gone, and I’d like to take one of Bronwyn to go. She’s beautiful, my friend. Just beautiful! I’m sure you worked hard. Go take a break.

    • March 3, 2014 at 9:27 am

      Aww … thanks, Katie. It’s nice being missed. And I’ll tell you what, that little Bronwyn is a cutie, isn’t she? Can’t wait to see her later this year …

  8. March 3, 2014 at 10:50 am

    You are a great guy and a great family man, Dave. There should be more people like you in the world. Congrats on your growing family.

    • March 3, 2014 at 4:42 pm

      Thank you, Eric. That was very kind.

  1. April 5, 2014 at 6:00 pm

Leave a Reply

