Home > General > On blogging: how to increase hits by a factor of ten

On blogging: how to increase hits by a factor of ten

February 18, 2014 Leave a comment Go to comments

Apparently I stumbled across a little known secret for increasing blog traffic. What is it? It seems one just has to tag their post with Adam Lambert πŸ™‚

My last post about Adam Lambert’s song Mad World went ballistic. Unfortunately, I only got a couple of extra comments and no follows. However, considering they were all stopping by to read what some writer guy had to say about one of their favorite artists, that makes sense.

Perhaps I should tag my next post with Stephen King? Naah. Can’t be that easy.

–dp

  1. February 18, 2014 at 10:55 pm

    I’ve written at least a couple of blogs that had to do with books written by Stephen King. They were tagged accordingly, but alas, I got no extra hits…

    • February 18, 2014 at 10:57 pm

      Well, one can always hope, right? πŸ™‚

  2. February 19, 2014 at 5:04 am

    Hum…I’ve never tagged…I need a blogging for dummies book. πŸ™‚

  3. February 19, 2014 at 5:30 am

    Isn’t blog traffic the strangest thing? I think that also demonstrates why it can be important to stay up on current trends in the news/internet, as that can drive people to your site. My Scrivener post went pretty wild as well, and my book reviews on well known books like Lemony Snicket’s a Series of Unfortunate Events gets a lot of Google traffic anymore.

  4. February 19, 2014 at 7:18 am

    So you’re advising us to tag our posts with Adam Lambert even if they’re not about Adam Lambert? πŸ˜›

  5. February 19, 2014 at 9:02 am

    Long ago I wrote a post about the difference between celebrity bodies and us normal folks. I included pics of a shirtless Will Smith and Hugh Jackman. I won’t make that mistake again. For months I had all sorts of variations of “Will Smith Nude” in my search terms and periodic spikes in traffic. From now on I want to know those spikes are for my writing, not for Will Smith’s pecs (though fine as they may be…)

  6. February 19, 2014 at 11:15 am

    I think you could tag Lady Gaga and get away with it.

  7. February 20, 2014 at 12:27 pm

    I wrote for a site that tagged very creatively and managed to get a great deal of traffic from it. On my old blog, I once posted a picture of a chainsaw as part of a news parody, and I got hundreds and hundreds of hits based off “Chainsaw pic.” I wonder if a single one of those folks stuck around to read the piece.

  8. February 20, 2014 at 7:39 pm

    I got a fair number of hits when I wrote about a “giant penis.” I suppose it’s fortunate most of those people didn’t stay around πŸ˜‰

    • March 1, 2014 at 9:05 pm

      Hmm … perhaps I should tag my next post this way. Maybe someone might actually stick around and follow my blog. Might not be the kind I want around, though πŸ™‚

      • March 2, 2014 at 11:23 am

        Heh heh πŸ˜‰ I got a little of hits, but I don’t think I gained many followers through that post. Probably just as well πŸ˜‰

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

