Home > Life, Movies, Throwback Thursday > If it’s City Slickers it must be my birthday

If it’s City Slickers it must be my birthday

Well, throwback Thursday is a day early this week. Yeah, yeah, yeah … I know that actually makes it a throwback Wednesday, but I think this blog post from four years ago is apropos for the day. So, just like Mr. Peabody and Sherman, let’s step into the WABAC (as in “wayback” for the uninitiated) machine and travel all the way back to January 14th, 2009.

City Slickers and my birthday

  1. January 15, 2014 at 4:36 am

    Sadly, I’ve never seen City Slickers. *cringes away from inevitable shock* but based on those quotes alone, I must go see it!!

    Way to put yourself out there with personal stuff like that. I need to be better, but I’m so bad at that!

    • January 15, 2014 at 9:45 am

      Yes, you must. Just like I told you you’d love Scrivener, you will love City Slickers.

      Yeah, I guess I have been doing more personal stuff lately. I’m not sure why … maybe I just like talking about myself? 🙂 Thank you for always reading, though, even when it’s personal.

      BTW – if I recall correctly, you’ve done a pretty good jobs with posts about yourself. You even had the courage to post a picture of your bad hair on a bad hair day *and* a picture of yourself awake and cooking at some ungodly hour in the morning. I’d say that’s pretty personal 🙂

  2. January 15, 2014 at 5:00 am

    Happy Birthday, Dave. Believe in the power of your finger 😉

    • January 15, 2014 at 9:35 am

      LOL. Thanks, I will, Marie.

  3. January 15, 2014 at 5:22 am

    Happy Birthday, Dave! Here’s to another year of being alive and healthy! 🙂

    • January 15, 2014 at 9:34 am

      Thanks, Jill. Those two attributes make it a wonderful birthday so far 🙂

  4. January 15, 2014 at 7:25 am

    Happy BD, dude! By the way, what ever happened to Sucrets?

    • January 15, 2014 at 9:34 am

      Thanks. You know, I ask myself that same question once a year 🙂 I don’t know the answer. They just faded away, it seems.

  5. January 15, 2014 at 10:14 am

    Happy Birthday! I use to lament my birthdays, too, but a few years ago my step-father said something simple yet profound (at least it was to me). He said, “It’s better than the alternative.” Um, yeah, I’d say so. So now I welcome birthdays. Okay, maybe I don’t welcome them, but I forgive them. 😉

    • January 15, 2014 at 10:21 am

      That’s great … I remember my dad used to tell me the same thing whenever I’d wish him a happy birthday. I guess it’s fundamentally pretty much the truth, right? As Jill said, it’s all about being alive and being healthy. 2014 and January 15th have found both of those to be true, so I’m one happy camper 🙂

  6. January 15, 2014 at 2:14 pm

    My friend Nancy, who I’m sure you’ve seen in my comments section (if you haven’t visited her blog), often talks of collecting experiences rather than accomplishments and finds it a more gratifying way to live. I’ve slowly been coming around to her way of thinking.

  7. January 15, 2014 at 4:22 pm

    Happy birthday, Dave! I hope your day was great and the new year treats you well 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

