Home > Life, Throwback Thursday, Writing > Throwback Thursday: unseen posts from the past

Throwback Thursday: unseen posts from the past

Ok … I’ve finally given in. For a while now, I’ve been seeing “throwback Thursday” blog posts fly by here, as well as on Facebook. So, I figured I might as well jump on the bandwagon. In my case, though, I don’t plan on posting old pictures of myself (because, let’s admit it, who really cares about those), but rather, throw out some old blog posts. Most of you out there following me now are relatively new, say within the last year. Since I’ve been blogging off and on for pretty much for 5 years now, I thought it would be fun to share some of the (hopefully) better posts from years gone by.

First up is something I wrote back in August of 2011. It’s all about rediscovering a dream. Hope you enjoy.

Throwback Thursday post.

–dp

  1. January 10, 2014 at 5:31 am

    Loved it!

    My favorite part was when you spoke about quitting because, in retrospect, you just didn’t think you understood what a writing career was. I think that’s key. Understanding that writing IS rejection, and time, and days of just writing when you feel like nothing is going anywhere. Personally, failure is key to motivation and success, I think.

    • January 10, 2014 at 9:53 pm

      Thanks, Katie. I think you nailed it on the head. That was, indeed, my problem. I completely misunderstood what it meant to be a writer. I wish I could have had my network of writer friends back then … I think things would have been very different with a support group of like-minded individuals such as all those I’ve been fortunate enough to meet so far.

  2. January 10, 2014 at 6:00 am

    I like these throwback posts. Like good writing, they never go bad ๐Ÿ™‚ I need to keep these lines from your post at the forefront of my mind: “Because being a writer isnโ€™t an end goal, itโ€™s a journey. Itโ€™s not a destination, but instead, a mindset. You are a writer because, quite simply, you want to write. And just as importantly, you do.”

    • January 11, 2014 at 10:32 am

      Thanks, Marie. It took me a long, long time to figure out what you quoted above, but it sure has made things a lot easier for me ๐Ÿ™‚ I still have my moments where I forget, but for the most part I try and focus on and enjoy the journey I am (and so many others of us are) taking.

  3. January 10, 2014 at 7:35 am

    I think this is a great idea, and I loved your choice of a past post for today. I’m glad you decided to come back to the writing fold, and that over time you were able to change your definition of what it means to be a writer! I had to go through that same revelation myself; I’m glad I’m in good company. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • January 11, 2014 at 10:49 am

      Thanks, Nicole. Glad you liked the post yesterday. I’d been pondering the idea for a while and finally decided it would be fun to try. Yeah, I’m glad I came back to writing, and glad to have found such a wonderfully supportive group of writers, like you, to share the experience with.

  4. January 10, 2014 at 9:08 am

    Great idea for Throwback Thursday. I won’t admit how long it took me to really know what that term meant…

    • January 11, 2014 at 11:01 am

      Ha ha … well, don’t feel bad. I was sort of slow on the uptake myself ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Jennifer Pagan
    January 13, 2014 at 11:14 pm

    I love the throwback post. And the fact that you referenced Sister Act 2 AND Rilke in the same post. Love his stuff:) Thanks, Dave.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

