Home > Holidays, Music > Bizzare version of a Christmas song

Bizzare version of a Christmas song

December 23, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

And now, a short post on a Christmas related topic.

I’ll admit I’m a big fan of Christmas music. I usually fire it up in early November and play it right through Christmas day. Over the years I’ve listened to music from almost every genre, and my personal collection of Christmas tunes would be considered eclectic. So, imagine my surprise when just this year my wife introduced me to what I must, in the end, classify as probably the strangest version of a familiar Christmas song.

“Which song, Dave?” someone out there has surely asked by now. Why, Jingle Bells, as recorded by Amy Grant. Funny thing is, I like Amy Grant and have enjoyed some of her music over the years, but I just couldn’t handle this arrangement. Sorry, Amy.

Now, take a deep breath, then press play and see how long you can last before the urge to bang your head against the wall overcomes your natural instincts for survival.

So, anyone else have examples of awful Christmas songs, or versions of good songs that completely missed the mark? Or better yet, anyone like this version of Jingle Bells? Maybe I’m just not sophisticated enough to appreciate it.

–dp

  1. December 23, 2013 at 4:24 pm

    I feel like I need a nap after that one. Phew!

    Merry Christmas, Dave!

    • December 24, 2013 at 10:03 am

      Ha ha … I know, right? Seriously the most manic Christmas tune ever. Merry Christmas, Carrie!

  2. December 24, 2013 at 5:48 am

    I got about halfway through … I was able to recover slightly during the slow part but when she started up with the staccato (?) Jingle Bells, yup, I lost it πŸ™‚
    Merry Christmas, Dave!

    • December 24, 2013 at 10:04 am

      Yeah … she reels you in during those slower parts and you start thinking maybe the song will turn out right. But nooooo. “Ji,ji,ji,ji,ji,jingle Bells”

      Merry Christmas, Marie!

  3. December 24, 2013 at 5:56 am

    I made it through 18 seconds, 10 of which were a volume swell. YIkes! That was… interesting.

    • December 24, 2013 at 10:05 am

      LOL. You know, pretty much 18 seconds is all you really need with this song πŸ™‚

      • December 24, 2013 at 11:50 am

        My son made it about 40 seconds in. You know, Dave, you’re supposed to be spreading joy this time of year, not inflicting torture.

        πŸ˜‰

  4. December 24, 2013 at 6:39 am

    That made me nervous…Merry Christmas, Dave!

    • December 24, 2013 at 10:06 am

      Yeah, right? Like a pot full of coffee in the morning. While I never considered Jingle Bells to be much of a song, this version was just downright irritating πŸ™‚

      Merry Christmas, Jill!

  5. December 24, 2013 at 7:01 am

    To begin with, “Jingle Bells” has never been at the top of my “favorites” for the season, and this version was way too intense. I like Amy Grant, but this wasn’t a pleasant ride in her “one-horse open sleigh.” Give me “I’ll Be Home for Christmas” every Christmas season. And may your Christmas be happy and bright, Dave! πŸ™‚

    • December 24, 2013 at 10:08 am

      I agree. Ever since elementary school, Jingle Bells has not been at the top of my list of great Christmas tunes. But who would of thought the song could be made outright detestable? Wow.

      Merry Christmas to you and your family!

  6. December 24, 2013 at 9:41 am

    Sounds like a cross between some crazy free-form jazz, a broadway show song, and too much coffee. I’ll give it points for originality πŸ™‚

    • December 24, 2013 at 10:09 am

      Hey, that’s a good description of this song. And original it is πŸ™‚

      Happy holidays, Mike! Hope you have a great one.

      • December 24, 2013 at 10:24 am

        Haooy holidays to you and yours, too!

  7. December 26, 2013 at 11:48 am

    The really popular ‘Jingle Bell Rock’ song makes me want to drag my nails across a chalkboard, but I think that’s just because I think it’s been overplayed. WAY overplayed. Really, just about any Christmas movie has that song in it at one point, right?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

