Home > General, Holidays, Life > (Almost) winter snow

(Almost) winter snow

Here in northern California, we don’t often get snow. But when we do, it sure makes everything look pretty. Here’s what it looked like yesterday.

WinterHouse

See that window on the lower right? That’s where I spend most of my life, either working or writing.

Unfortunately, we’re a bit behind on putting up decorations. We should be caught up this week, though πŸ™‚

–dp

  1. December 8, 2013 at 2:40 pm

    Used to live in Sonoma and hardly recall snow. It did happen , but not often. Ice was more of a problem.

  2. December 8, 2013 at 2:41 pm

    Looks like a great place to spend most of your life, Dave. πŸ™‚ Beautiful photo and very welcoming house. I think it would hold all of your followers for a little writing party. πŸ™‚

    • December 8, 2013 at 4:46 pm

      Well, it’s a decent size house, but there would only be enough room for four. First to RSVP get their pick? πŸ™‚

      • December 9, 2013 at 4:26 am

        Any room with a view is fine by me. πŸ™‚

  3. December 8, 2013 at 3:00 pm

    Hey that looks like where I am! It is indeed very pretty πŸ™‚

  4. December 8, 2013 at 3:07 pm

    Dave: I’d be glad to send you some snow and very cold weather right now! Nice looking house and sure to be a comfortable place to get lots of writing done. I like Jill’s idea about convening a writing party there. Enjoy the holidays. πŸ™‚

    • December 8, 2013 at 3:09 pm

      What does your calendar look like, Mark? πŸ™‚ Poor Dave…

    • December 8, 2013 at 4:43 pm

      Ok, I’ll take you up on that snow and cold weather. I love it because I don’t have to leave the house to go to work πŸ™‚

  5. December 8, 2013 at 3:19 pm

    Where are you in Northern California, Dave? I thought you were in the Pac. Northwest for some reason… (PS, no snow here in Petaluma. Yet.)

    • December 8, 2013 at 4:54 pm

      Hey Kevin – we live a little further north, in Redding. Some would claim we live in what should the state of Jefferson πŸ™‚

  6. December 8, 2013 at 4:39 pm

    Ah, what acute little house! I lived in a place in AL for a few months that was built in 1920 and had a cute little bay window, and hardwood floors, and was made of brick.

    Isn’t it amazing how a ‘spot’ can give you inspiration?

  7. December 8, 2013 at 4:42 pm

    Ha ha. This is great. Ok, my wife just told me she’d love to host the writer’s party πŸ™‚

  8. December 9, 2013 at 4:10 am

    Great looking house, Dave! I’m game for the writer’s party πŸ™‚ Any excuse for me to visit California πŸ™‚

    • December 10, 2013 at 8:41 pm

      Looks like we’ve definitely got enough for a writer’s party πŸ™‚

      • December 11, 2013 at 4:44 am

        πŸ™‚

  9. December 9, 2013 at 6:48 am

    What’s with that ghost in the high middle window?

    • December 9, 2013 at 6:48 am

      made you look!

      • December 10, 2013 at 9:52 am

        Ha. I actually looked. Good one πŸ™‚

  10. December 11, 2013 at 9:16 am

    I am exceedingly grumpy that sodding California has snow and Stockholm barely has any. Very cute house, though I agree with the commenter above. It does look as though it could be haunted.

    • December 12, 2013 at 9:48 am

      Ha ha … well, I’m sure you won’t have to be grumpy very long. Our snow has since melted away and you will most likely get more. We probably won’t get any more snow this year, which is sad because I really enjoy it. As far as having a haunted house, I have no idea. But now I’m starting to wonder πŸ™‚

  11. December 16, 2013 at 10:33 pm

    Snow is pretty to look at, but I hate being in it. It’s so cold… Glad I live in Southern California! πŸ˜›

  12. December 22, 2013 at 1:48 am

    Hi Dave we are new to your blog by way of mutual blogging friend Carrie Rubin. Have to say, I’m in a bit of shock with this weather as of late. A good writing & FB friend of ours whose an American Writer living abroad, more specifically in the Middle East in Jordon, just sent us pictures he took of heavy snowfall & said that where he lives it’s as rare as Halley’s comet. Now reading your post too, it makes me think….what’s next? We live in the Smoky Mountains of Western North Carolina & although we transplanted from Florida, we have lived here for over ten years. When we first came to NC we enjoyed inches of snow a few weeks out of the year even finding ourselves more than four years in a row with a perfect-pictured White Christmas. Now it seems that Christmas brings with it more of tropical weather with thunderstorms and high winds as it is doing this very second as I type and the wind howls. I do believe the world is trading weather. The tropical places seem to be finding snow while the higher elevations are running air conditioners. Either way, we got a good helping of the white stuff courtesy of your lovely picture. Enjoy it on our behalves & to you we say…..Merry Christmas!!

    • December 23, 2013 at 9:53 pm

      Thanks for stopping by my blog, and for commenting and following. I’m looking forward to following your blog as well. I don’t know what’s up with the snow in some places and spring weather in others. Pretty crazy. I remember seeing pictures of the snow in the middle east. Now that seemed pretty weird. I so enjoyed having the snow and wish it could have stayed longer. Unfortunately, it was gone in a week and now we’re left with cool weather that seems oddly more spring-like than winter. Oh well. With luck we’ll get a least one more round of snow. Hope you both get a a white Christmas out there in NC. If you do, please share a picture, ok? Hope you have a wonderful and merry Christmas!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

