Home > Absurdities, Apple > On computers: why I hate Windows

On computers: why I hate Windows

November 26, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

Do I really have to say anything?

IMG_3371

No, I don’t. But I will. I have never, repeat never, seen this kind of nonsense on any Mac I’ve owned over the years, yet what you see above has been the norm on every Winblows machine I’ve ever owned. Thankfully, this is the state of my “work” computer and not my personal computer — a Mac — that I use for writing and everything else. My Mac simply works, as has every other Mac I’ve owned. Oh, and because I use a Mac, I also have the privilege of using the best version of the best writing software ever developed: Scrivener.

–dp

  1. November 26, 2013 at 10:24 pm

    Scrivener is pretty awesome. I always end up exporting it to something I can edit outside of Scrivener, but it’s a useful tool. Windows is awful, although I have some respect for Windows 7. I hate Mac too, because it’s horribly overpriced. A few years ago, I was a narrow minded zealot who would’ve said that Linux was the best thing to have happened to the world, but as the years have gone on the code has gotten sloppier, and the leading distros like Ubuntu have all emulated the worst aspects of Windows. I have a lot of respect for FreeBSD, and used it on my desktop for a while, but managing ports is just too much work to be practically useful to me right now. That, and it lacks a lot of driver support.

    *sigh* I’m stuck using Linux for now, only because it’s the only thing that (sort of) balances the kind of power that I need with (relative) ease of management.

    Bleh, operating systems…

    • November 26, 2013 at 10:25 pm

      Oh, and one perk of using Linux right now is that Scrivener for that platform is free B-)

      • November 26, 2013 at 10:39 pm

        Hard to argue with that price 🙂

    • November 26, 2013 at 10:39 pm

      Love Scrivener. Haven’t had to do anything yet beyond just the writing and editing so far, but I know at some point I’ll have to export my stuff to other tools. Still, it’s an amazing tool for a really good price.

      That nice picture above is from, you guessed it: Windows 7 Professional. Bleah. It really just never gets any better.

      I’ve used a few versions of Linux over the years, one of them being Ubuntu. They were ok. Never used FreeBSD, though. Problem with them, though, was that I didn’t really want to spend much timing having to learn about to administer the silly things. Too much work 🙂 Overall, through the years, Unix systems are my favorite development platform assuming someone else is keeping them up and running. For home use, I tend to like to stick with things that are simple to use. And for that, I choose Macs for the reasons stated above. I can’t refute that they are expensive, but for me, I don’t mind spending those bucks because I know I’ve got a high quality system that I can count on until whenever I may want to upgrade to something newer.

      • November 26, 2013 at 10:58 pm

        Huh. That’s the first time I’ve seen a blue screen on Windows 7. Oh well, what can you expect. It *is* Windows…

        Anything *NIX makes a great dev environment. I never develop on anything else.

        Yeah, the time investment is why I ultimately gave up on FreeBSD. I liked it, but it was just too much work. Ubuntu is probably the easiest to use, and it actually really is drop dead simple. In some cases, it’s easier to install and use than Windows.The problem is, when it breaks, it *really* breaks (like Windows.) It’s become completely dependent on the GUI (although you can still drop down to a real virtual terminal if you have to, thank God.) Whereas once upon a time, if you absolutely had to, you could get your hands dirty and fix things relatively easy (assuming you knew what to do), it’s increasingly becoming a black box of complicated stuff, and people in the Ubuntu forums are increasingly suggesting Windows-like fixes to things. I fear the Linux world is not heading in a good direction, or at least the mainstream Linux world.

        Also, Canonical has been pushing for more restrictive licensing, and is making some headway with the new Mir replacement to X.org (technically, it’s under GPLv3, but if you want to be a contributor, they make you sign an agreement stating that they can relicense your code however they see fit.) That’s most likely going to be default in 14.04. I’m pondering a switch to Debian, but of course that means more work…

      • November 27, 2013 at 12:13 pm

        Ha ha. Yeah, the search for the best variant of Unix. Always a fun thing. I enjoy using them, but, like you said, it can be time consuming. Good luck with Debian 🙂

  2. November 26, 2013 at 10:41 pm

    I look at Scrivener about once a year and I’m not sure what has stopped me from giving it a try. Maybe just a general fear of change when it comes to how I work?

    • November 27, 2013 at 11:54 am

      Hi Brian – it took me a while before I tried it. Mostly I think it was because the application looked a bit overwhelming at first, what with so many features. Fortunately they have some great online videos and tutorials that get you up and running pretty quickly. I’ve been using it for a couple of years or so now, and I don’t use nearly all of its capability, but it’s still worth every penny. For example, for me, the cork board mode is a huge win, as is the ability to easily click and drag scenes and chapters around in your manuscript and have it all just magically happen for you. Very cool

      • November 27, 2013 at 12:57 pm

        Thanks for the feedback! I am going to seriously look at it again. Is it easy to import a word in progress from, say, Word?

      • November 27, 2013 at 12:57 pm

        Or even a “work” in progress…

      • November 27, 2013 at 2:12 pm

        Yep. While I’ve not tried it myself, apparently it’s quite easy to do. Basically it’s just a matter of a few clicks on your mouse. Once your file is imported, you can go back and break up your story into chapter/scenes in whatever way you want. I think there’s an official video on the process at Literature & Latte (the makers of Scrivener), as well as blog posts from those who’ve done it.

        Give it a shot. I think you’ll really like it.

  3. November 27, 2013 at 4:21 am

    Oh, the dreaded, Blue Screen of Death…I’m so sorry, Dave. I’ve never owned or worked on a Mac, but everyone I know says they’re the best. I still haven’t tried Scrivener, but I’d like to look into it for the new year, like Brian, fear of change, I guess. Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family, Dave!

    • November 27, 2013 at 12:00 pm

      For years I swore I would never leave the world of Microsoft’s Windows operating system (even with the crashes, hangs, and inevitable sluggish behavior). But then my son (the doctor 🙂 got one and showed it to me. Instantly I was hooked. That was at least 8 years ago and I’ve been happy ever since. If you have a few extra bucks hanging around, they definitely are the smart choice for computers that just work. As for Scrivener, you absolutely must try it. It looks different, and presents a new model for writing, so it can be overwhelming at first (see my response to Brian below for more details).

      Have a wonderful Thanksgiving, Jill!

      • November 27, 2013 at 2:55 pm

        Not only is your son a doctor, but he’s a technical wizard…I’m impressed! 🙂 I’ve heard a lot of good things about Scrivener, your post may have nudged me into checking it out. Gobble-Gobble!

  4. November 27, 2013 at 5:54 am

    I use Scrivener on my PC, but something tells me it would work better on a Mac. Maybe it’s best I don’t know…

    • November 27, 2013 at 12:01 pm

      Ha ha. Yeah, it’s best. I don’t have any personal experience with Scrivener on Windows. I do know it’s evolving over time, so I’d guess that eventually it should be on par with the Mac version. I’m really looking forward to Scrivener on the iPad. Now *that* will be cool!

  5. November 27, 2013 at 8:13 am

    I told you not to try and split the atom with that thing! lol.

    • November 27, 2013 at 12:04 pm

      LOL. Yeah, you know I just pushed it too close to the edge … so close it toppled over the side and crashed and burned.

      • November 27, 2013 at 1:59 pm

        So, you tried to open Word while you had music playing; “Warning, warning. Danger, Will Robinson!” 😀

      • November 27, 2013 at 4:56 pm

        Yeah, you know. Pretty much if you run anything concurrently 🙂

  6. November 27, 2013 at 10:21 am

    When my last and final desktop PC finally perished last year, I took great joy in pummeling it with a hammer about 10 times.

    I still used windows, mostly because I’m a creature of habit, but that doesn’t mean I remotely like it.

    • November 27, 2013 at 12:10 pm

      What a wonderful moment that must have been. I can only dream of taking a sledge hammer to this piece of junk, but I don’t think my employer would be too happy about that 🙂 Someday, you must do it, Eric. You must jump away from the dark side.

  7. November 27, 2013 at 12:38 pm

    Wow, I’ve never seen that before (nor have I ever been able to afford a mac). I’d better go before my computer gets a good look at it.

    *ducks head back in the door* SCRIVENER RULES!

  8. November 28, 2013 at 5:30 am

    My poor husband has to face the Blue Screen of Death from time to time since every computer he uses has Windows. Much of the astronomy software he uses requires Windows so he’s stuck for now. While Macs are expensive, my desktop is outliving all the other computers I’ve ever had. Maybe I’m just fairly easy to please: all I want to do is access the internet, write, manage my iTunes, my photos and play an occasional game 🙂 I do get annoy with the “updates,” especially the ones for iTunes and iPhotos which seem to make using those apps more difficult, not easier for an old lady like me. Except for occasional apps glitches on my iPad and the one time I couldn’t access iCloud, I’ve been a happy Mac user.
    I do have a copy of Scrivener that I have yet to use, but I’m happy to see how many people are happy with it. Happy Thanksgiving, Dave!

    • November 28, 2013 at 10:29 pm

      I feel sorry for your husband … nothing quite as annoying as that stupid blue screen right when you’re in the middle of something. Unfortunately, many of us are stuck using Windows. The only real alternative is running Windows on a Mac through bootcamp, or even cooler, running it in a virtual machine, like through Parallels. Not recommended for the faint of heart, though 🙂

      I don’t think I’ve ever run into anyone that’s been unhappy with Apple in general. Oh sure, there may be the occasional glitches and stuff, but those are the exception rather than the rule (as is the case with Windoze).

      Now Marie – you absolutely must try the free trial version of Scrivener. If you’re willing to give it a little time, you will fall in love with it. I guarantee it! 🙂

      Hope you had a great Thanksgiving!

      • November 29, 2013 at 7:48 am

        Hi, Dave, hope you enjoyed your Thanksgiving! I do have a copy of Scrivener that I got from a previous NaNo event. After reading your post, I went ahead and installed it on my Air as well. Now … to find that time I need to acquaint myself with it 🙂

  9. November 29, 2013 at 1:27 pm

    I need to breakdown and just get Scrivener. Everyone is talking about it. For the record, I’ll never go back to windows either. I’m obsessed with Macs!

    Doesn’t Scrivener offer a discount if you did Nano? I think I’m going to check it out and use that. Hope your Thanksgiving was great!

    • November 29, 2013 at 3:59 pm

      First, you must absolutely positively give in and, at the very least, get the trial version and give it a whirl. Be willing to put in the little bit of time getting through the learning curve and you’ll be up and writing in no time. There are lots of video tutorials to go through that get you through the basics. Do it, Katie. Do it now.

      Always happy to hear from another Machead. I’ve been obsessed with them ever since my son got one and showed me how great they are … about 8 or so years ago.

      Yes, I think you get at least a 25% discount for finishing NaNo. Maybe even higher. Trust me, the software is worth full price, but if you can get it for 25-50% off, that’s a steal.

      Thanks, Katie. Had a wonderful thanksgiving. Looks like you had a great one as well 🙂

      • December 6, 2013 at 5:25 am

        Okay, FINE! I’ll try it out today and report back 😉

  10. November 29, 2013 at 11:48 pm

    Yes, seriously! I have to use a windows computer at work and it is ALWAYS having issues. I’ve used Mac for my personal computer since I was in college… hardly a single issue. That blue screen of death will be the end of me! You can take a windows computer out of the box, plug it in, and it will have an issue. I do NOT understand the appeal.

    • November 30, 2013 at 10:27 am

      I know, right? I don’t get it either. Time after time Windoze will fail, blue screen of death, hangs, viruses. I finally had enough and bailed on them. But, like you, at least for the moment, I do have to use it for work purposes. But that’s it! Thanks for stopping by and comment, and following, Aussa.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

