Home > Uncategorized > What Not to Say – 5 Ways to Talk to Your Writer

What Not to Say – 5 Ways to Talk to Your Writer

September 7, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

Good advice for those who have friends or family who write …

WORD SAVANT

Snoopy-typing

As I read “Don’t Ask Me What I’m Writing” in the Sunday New York Times, I thought, “That is the worst question anyone can ask a writer.”

The question was, How is your novel going?

When someone asks me that question, I have the panicky feeling I used to get when I took a test and realized I didn’t study hard enough for it.

Slouka was writing specifically of what happens when a friend asks their writer this question within the first few months.

The novel is a new-born babe, a primitive and undeveloped idea in the writer’s mind. A well-intentioned friend might ask them, “How is the novel going?”

As Slouka points out this question is a double-edged sword that cuts both writer and well-meaning friend.

But no matter what the progress of the book, you can’t win with that kind of question.  I’ve been asked that question many…

View original post 589 more words

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. September 7, 2013 at 2:54 pm

    I need to distribute this to — well, to everyone I know. Immediately. 😉

    • September 7, 2013 at 3:41 pm

      Ha … yeah, I felt the same way 🙂

  2. September 7, 2013 at 9:20 pm

    Thanks for the reblog!

  3. September 10, 2013 at 4:09 pm

    Thanks for the reblog, Dave! “Rather than talk about the book, it’s much easier to talk about the process.” That is so much easier! I’m printing this post and passing it out to family and friends. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

