Home > Health, Life, Running > Couch to 5K update – short update

Couch to 5K update – short update

September 5, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

Today was my first run of week 3 (out of 8) using my couch to 5K iPhone app. Felt pretty good today, too. I must admit to being surprised that this run felt better than the last run of week 2. Go figure. Anyway, I’m happy with my progress.

Oh, btw, I did get new running shoes *and* I bought the couch to 5K app. That should be enough guilt to keep me going for a while 🙂

–dp

  1. Jennifer Pagan
    September 6, 2013 at 6:06 am

    Go Dave, go! Way to stick with it!

    • September 9, 2013 at 9:34 am

      Jenn! Glad to see your name pop up in here 🙂 Thanks for the encouragement. So far so good. In fact, I’m due for a run today. Wish me luck!

  2. September 6, 2013 at 3:17 pm

    It is my nature to leave teasing comments, but I will refrain and be supportive instead.

    Way to go, Dave!*
    .
    .
    .
    .
    *that felt weird

    • September 6, 2013 at 6:28 pm

      Thanks, Eric. I feel very supported right now. Tell you what, when I post that my knee is killing me, I’ll expect nothing less than a “I told you so!”

  3. September 7, 2013 at 5:30 pm

    Best of luck, Dave! I kind of wish I could run … so many of my friends but I’ve never been able to run more than 20 minutes continuously. Seriously. I prefer yoga 🙂

    • September 7, 2013 at 9:16 pm

      I should probably be doing yoga … way easier on the shins and knees. But I sure do love running when I’m in shape, and it’s a great workout.

      • September 8, 2013 at 5:22 am

        Perhaps you could do both :). A lot of runners practice at the yoga studio I go to. A number of poses are great for stretching and toning muscles overlooked in running (hamstrings, e.g.). If you can’t find a studio near you, there’s probably some good YouTube videos you can try.

      • September 8, 2013 at 1:27 pm

        Good point. I tend to ignore the stretching part of running, which inevitably causes me to get an injury at some point. Thanks for the advice!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

