Home > Health, Running > Couch to 5K update – one week down

Couch to 5K update – one week down

Today I completed the final run of my first week using the couch to 5K in eight weeks iPhone app. After the first run, my legs were a bit sore, and got worse over the next couple of days. The second run felt a bit better and wasn’t as hard to complete. Two days later, today, and I was able to do the third run of the week without much trouble. As a bonus, I actually felt very good this afternoon after my run. Funny how getting out and exercising a bit can make you feel better. What a concept 🙂

Two things I think I’ll do next to encourage/guilt myself into keeping up with my goal of reaching a 5K are:

  1. Spend a buck ninety-nine and buy the C25K app, so I’ll feel bad if I don’t use it; and
  2. Buy some new shoes. Mine are really, really old. If I spend $100 on a new pair, I’m going to feel pretty stupid if all I do is put them on to go out somewhere instead of running.

So, that’s where I’m at. One week down … uh, seven weeks to go until I hit that three mile mark. So far, so good!

–dp

  1. August 27, 2013 at 1:09 pm

    Hi Dave. I’m doing C25K too, and loving it. Keep going and you’ll be running 5K in no time at all. 🙂

    • August 28, 2013 at 12:49 am

      Thanks for the encouragement. Feeling pretty good so far. Can’t wait to make it to that 5K mark.

  2. August 27, 2013 at 1:19 pm

    Yea yea! Get after it! I love running. It’s healthy for my writing.

    • August 28, 2013 at 12:36 am

      Hey, I’m working on it, and I’m pretty excited about how I’m doing so far. Thanks for the encouragement, Katie!

  3. August 28, 2013 at 12:51 pm

    Keep going! New shoes are a good idea. I started c25k six months ago – it’s brilliant. Just don’t forget – slow and steady avoids the injuries!

    • August 28, 2013 at 1:01 pm

      Thanks! So far I feel great and am enjoying getting back into running. And you’re right … slow and steady. I’ve had enough injuries from trying to run too fast and too far without ramping up properly. Best of luck to you in your running!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

