Home > Health, Life > On running: a confession

On running: a confession

Believe it or not, a few years back, I was a pretty decent runner. I got up to where I could run 6 or 7 miles at a 10 minute mile clip. Nothing spectacular, but I was pretty proud of it. At the time, I’d even toyed with the idea of working my way up to a half marathon. And then, for no real reason, I stopped.

Fast-forward to today. I’ve essentially not run at all over the intervening years, except for a few short bursts here and there. Nor have I been going to the gym regularly. My day job is nearly completely sedentary, especially because I work from home (as a programmer), so about the only exercise I get is running up and down the stairs in our house. Better than nothing, but not by much. To say the least, I’ve gotten pretty out of shape.

For a while now, people have been telling me about an iPhone app called C25K (Couch To 5 K) in 8 weeks. Its purpose in life is to take you through the steps necessary to work your way up to running 3 miles, and to do so slowly. Considering my lack of any exercise, this seemed an ideal way to get back into something healthy that I enjoyed. So I downloaded the app and stared at it on my home screen for a few weeks. Yesterday, possibly out of guilt, I finally opened the app and pushed a few buttons to see how it worked. Pretty cool. Well, today, most definitely having reached the point of needing to do something besides sit at my desk, I got out my chair, strapped on my iPhone, put on my headphones and headed outside. I clicked start and away I went.

I returned home 30 minutes later more tired than I expected and sweating like a pig (not only because I’m out of shape but also because it was 100 degrees outside). Despite the sore legs, I’ve got to admit that I really do feel good at having accomplished something today. Granted, it was minimal, but it was a start. But, as they say, the longest journey starts with the first step. I consider this my first step, and for now, my journey will be hitting that 3 mile distance.

Wish me luck.

Oh, and if time goes by and I don’t post anything else about running, be sure to call me out on it. I need all the accountability I can get πŸ™‚

–dp

  1. August 21, 2013 at 9:32 pm

    i’ve heard a lot about the C25K program! Keep us posted on how it goes! πŸ™‚

    • August 24, 2013 at 2:04 pm

      Hi Grace – so far, I’m pretty happy with the little app. The free version is kind of annoying because the ads, so I’m thinking about buying it for a couple of bucks. It could use a few minor tweaks, but overall, it’s nice. I’ll definitely keep posting about this … if you don’t hear from in a while, ask me why I haven’t gone running πŸ™‚

  2. August 21, 2013 at 10:17 pm

    Yay! You are back! I started C25K about a month ago. I ran my first complete mile just a couple of days ago. I am registered for my first 5K EVER on September 1. Keep going. You will get right back into the swing of things!

    • August 23, 2013 at 12:21 am

      Great progress for you. Let’s hope I’m doing that well in a month πŸ™‚ I think you’ll be more than ready to go for your first 5K. If nothing else, the adrenaline will push along to the finish line πŸ™‚

  3. August 22, 2013 at 3:29 am

    My legs are extremely sore, as I walked with my writing friend for an hour this morn. I feel like I’m a hundred years old. Still, I hope to get out and ride the bike my son gave me tomorrow…just a little way. Good luck with your plan. I’ll check on you as I remember and you check on my progress when you think of it? I have no real plan, just to get outside and move.

    • August 23, 2013 at 12:14 am

      Patti – today proves my theory that I was desperately out of shape. My legs have been sore all day, too … doesn’t make me feel like I’m much of a runner. Oh well … tomorrow I’m out to do day two of the program after a day of rest. Wish me luck πŸ™‚ Enjoy your bike ride tomorrow. I’d like to do some biking some day … Your plan involving just getting outside and moving is a great one. That alone will do wonders for you.

      I’ll check back in on you occasionally … just remember to keep moving πŸ™‚

      • August 23, 2013 at 12:17 am

        Thanks, Dave, you too. Legs still sore. Very short ride, but beautiful. Will try longer tomorrow.

  4. August 22, 2013 at 11:02 am

    Go! Go! Go, Dave!

    • August 22, 2013 at 12:18 pm

      Ha ha … I’ll think of that as I’m out running tomorrow πŸ™‚

  5. August 22, 2013 at 1:03 pm

    Good luck Dave!

    • August 22, 2013 at 2:56 pm

      Thanks! I definitely need it πŸ™‚

  6. August 23, 2013 at 12:26 pm

    Sorry, I would be pretty hypocritical calling you out on not running, since I haven’t worked out in three years, mostly owing to a slipped disk and tendinitis from years of playing drums in a hard rock band. When I was 22, I used to sit there slamming away, thinking, “I wonder if this is going to catch up to me when I’m in my 40s.” Answer: Yes.

    Anyway, enough about me. Good luck in your quest to wreck your kn— um, get in shape.

    πŸ˜‰

    • August 23, 2013 at 8:51 pm

      Ha ha … that’s awesome. Amazing what we think in our 20s. Then, before you know it, we’re in our 40s (well, in my case, a little higher than that) and we realize that we aren’t really invincible after all. I suppose that since I was just a lowly bass player, if I’d played for a lot of years it wouldn’t really have mattered much. I mean, how much can you hurt yourself banging away on a bass, right? Except maybe get a bum shoulder from lugging it around on stage πŸ™‚

      Thanks for the good wishes? No, I hear you. Knees can be problematic when you get a bit older, so I’m taking it carefully. So far, not a problem. Let’s see if they hold up. Tomorrow is day number 2. It was supposed to be today but my legs hurt too much … man am I out of shape πŸ™‚

      • August 24, 2013 at 6:42 pm

        You are in shape. Just maybe not the shape you want. I’m in the shape of a guy 25 pound overweight

        Poor bass players. No respect. You’re the glue that holds the song together!

      • August 24, 2013 at 7:13 pm

        Well, I guess I can’t argue with not being in the shape I want. It is true. I, too, have a few pounds to lose. Hopefully this crazy running thing will help me drop a few πŸ™‚

        Yeah, us bass players are kind of the Rodney Dangerfields of music. I was pretty darn good, though, if I may be so bold. I think I looked pretty cool, too. Check it out, from back in the day. That’s me playing the old Rickenbacker bass.

        http://paganandproud.wordpress.com/2012/07/02/on-disappearing-childhood-dreams-meet-the-present/

      • August 24, 2013 at 8:41 pm

        Cool story! A couple of guys from my scene got record deals at one point or another, but none of that added up to anything. You’re right, bassists get no respect. i think we should start a petition to get you a wikipedia page!

      • August 24, 2013 at 10:45 pm

        Ha … yeah! I like it. Thanks, Eric. Nice to have one supporter out there πŸ™‚

  7. August 24, 2013 at 12:47 pm

    I’ve run two marathons, and I have to say, there’s no feeling that can duplicate finishing a race of any kind. Be it 5k or 10k or an ultra marathon. It’s one of the ways I work out all the angst that writing sometimes brings me πŸ™‚

    Dave, I’m so glad we stumbled into each other. I’m really looking forward to what you post here as well. Teach me everything you know!

    • August 24, 2013 at 4:29 pm

      Wow. I’m jealous to say the least. Two marathons! My son ran one a few years ago, and my daughter did a half marathon. At this point, my goal is a 5K, then 10K then, if my legs hold out, a half marathon! From my past experience with running, it is a wonderful way to get rid of anxiety πŸ™‚

      I agree, Katie … funny how in the blog world you can stumble across people with similar interests that you’d never otherwise meet. Pretty cool. Don’t know if I have anything to teach, but I’ll certainly pass along whatever I come up with πŸ™‚

      Just read a few more of your posts. Awesome …

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

