Home > Writing > On writing: ever feel like this?

On writing: ever feel like this?

“I hate writing, I love having written.”
— Dorothy Parker

I have. Not often, but sometimes …

–dp

  1. August 20, 2013 at 3:53 am

    I hate the anxiety that comes with sitting down to write, not knowing what’s going to come out, whether it’ll be good or bad. But I love it while it’s happening (most of the time).

    • August 20, 2013 at 10:47 am

      Yeah, fortunately I almost always love the process of writing, especially when the words flow and you become immersed in your story. No other feeling like it. But I’ve got to admit, there are times I want to throw my mac out the window 🙂

  2. August 20, 2013 at 10:47 am

    I always feel like that until I get to the editing. Then I love it again. I think it’s because the first draft is so frenzied. My Type-A self has a love-hate relationship with it.

    • August 20, 2013 at 11:02 am

      Ha ha … I laughed out loud when I read your comment, Carrie. I think it’s because I can relate to it so much 🙂

  3. August 20, 2013 at 12:17 pm

    I definitely know this feeling!! How is your writing going these days? 🙂

    • August 20, 2013 at 2:01 pm

      Hi Devin – good to hear from you. I was wondering why I wasn’t seeing any new posts from you. Now I know why. I forgot to subscribe to your new blog. Sheesh. Glad you replied … I’m now following your new blog.

      Writing is going well, though slow. Personal and life stuff kind of gets in the way now and then, but I’m managing.

      Looking forward to see your blog posts show up again!

  4. August 21, 2013 at 5:45 am

    Yeah, I love the past tense of writing 😉

    • August 21, 2013 at 10:14 am

      Ha … yeah. Doesn’t it feel great when you finish? 🙂

      • August 21, 2013 at 2:46 pm

        The problem is, I’m not very good at finishing either 😉

      • August 21, 2013 at 6:36 pm

        LOL.

  5. August 24, 2013 at 12:45 pm

    Every. Day.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

