Home > Family, Life > Father’s Day – 2013

Father’s Day – 2013

For thirty years, father’s day has been a happy day for me. Up until now, it’s been a day to celebrate my father for all that he did for me, and it’s been a day to spend with all, or at least some, of my kids. It’s never really been about receiving or giving gifts as much as it has been all about the giving of time. For my part, I always enjoyed the opportunity to talk with my dad and reminisce, but most of all, the chance to remind him that he was a great father, that I loved him, and that he should be proud of his wonderful legacy.

This year is bitter-sweet, though, because it’s the first year I won’t have the chance to call my dad and wish him a happy father’s day, nor will I have looked for and sent a father’s day card. All I can do this year is sift through my own personal memories, and look at a few old photographs. That will have to do for today and from now on.

As a small tribute to my dad, I recently scanned a number of photographs my mom gave to me and put them together into slideshow. For anyone interested, here’s a three minute glimpse of my father over the years.

Miss you dad …

Categories: Family, Life Tags: , ,
  1. June 16, 2013 at 10:30 am

    It’s fantastic that the two of you had such a good relationship and a strong bond. It says a lot about your character and his. Even though he is not there, you can still wish him Happy Father’s Day.

    • June 17, 2013 at 1:12 am

      Thanks, Eric, for the kind words today. Means a lot. Been a little tough, what with it being the first without him. And I definitely did wish him a very happy Father’s Day! 🙂

  2. June 16, 2013 at 11:08 am

    I loved the slideshow. You look a lot like him. What a bittersweet day for you today. I hope that you can cherish the memories and the legacy he left behind. Also, hugs and kisses from your grandkids can’t hurt 🙂 Love you a lot dave!

    • June 17, 2013 at 1:16 am

      Thanks, Erin. Kind of funny, I never really thought much about whether I looked at all like him. Nice to know there is a resemblance there. The busyness of the day kept it fun and lighthearted for the most part, and I thank Debbie for making it a great day. Wish you could have been here as well.

      Thanks for thinking about me, Erin. Love you too …

  3. June 19, 2013 at 6:23 am

    What a beautiful tribute to your dad. It sounds like he really knew he was loved.

  4. June 20, 2013 at 5:05 am

    Dave, your tribute to your dad is so moving. My own heart was aching while I viewed the photos. It’s wonderful that you had such a great relationship with him. Thank you for sharing your love for him with all of us.

    • June 20, 2013 at 10:29 am

      Thank you, Marie. It means so much to me that you would take the time to read this post and watch the video about my dad. I’m glad you liked it.

  5. DJ
    June 25, 2013 at 8:10 am

    My love, I’m sorry it’s taken this long to respond but to be truthful it wasn’t until this morning that I felt I could watch it. It was beautiful and you’ve done him proud. I know how much you love him and his love for you was measureless. We will continue to remember the wonderful times you spent together and the legacy he has left. Miss you too, dad.

    • June 25, 2013 at 2:48 pm

      Thank you, sweetheart, for watching it and for sharing how you feel. I hope your words are true, that he’s proud, but then we’ll not know that this side of glory. Thank you for all you’ve done for me over the last seven months … the understanding, the talking, the holding, the shedding of tears together, the sharing of heartaches. It all means so much to me. I couldn’t have made it through these months without you. I love you ..

  6. November 13, 2013 at 1:17 am

    Writing this through tears…the video and the song and then you and Debbie…like I needed something else to cry about! Thank you so much for sharing so much of yourself, your dad and your family.
    Patti

    • November 13, 2013 at 7:03 pm

      Thank you so much for taking time to watch this video, Patti. That really means a lot to me that you’d do that, because I know you have so much going on in your life. Funny, I hadn’t watched the video in a while but did when you left your reply. I, too, found myself crying once again.

      There is so much on your blog that I want to read, but I’m struggling to find the time. I’m looking forward to reading all about you and Paul that you’ve written about in your postcards.

      • November 13, 2013 at 9:11 pm

        Thank you, Dave, we’ll just keep trying to catch up! Trying to get done making the postcards into an e-book..will let you know when I finish:>)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

