Home > Writing > Did I really write this?

Did I really write this?

After working on a particular novel over many months, I decided to set it aside for a bit so that I could come back to it later with fresh eyes. Well, the other day, I figured my eyes were fresh enough, so I pulled out the work-in-progress and started looking it over. At first, I started reading from the beginning. After a few pages, I realized that I’d read the early pages plenty of times already. So, I decided to skip forward to about a third of the way into the story.

As I began reading, almost instantly I noticed two things: one, I’d forgotten what I’d written; and two, I was surprised by how good it was. Seriously, I felt like I was reading some real author or something. Very cool. Now don’t get me wrong. I don’t think I’m <insert your favorite all-time author here>, or anywhere close. But it just seemed as if the words were flowing so smoothly, so effortlessly, that it couldn’t possibly be me that wrote them. The truth was, though, that I did write them. And they were really good. Little did I know that by choosing to read a less familiar part of my book, I had allowed myself to experience what is a writer’s ultimate compliment: I simply got lost, however briefly, in my story. And that, in the end, is what it’s all about.

So, that’s it. I just decided to share a small triumph of mine. A time where, for just a moment, I saw that I really could write something decent, that I just might be a writer. Kind of makes it all worthwhile, you know?

Anyone else ever have these moments?

–dp

Categories: Writing Tags:
  1. DJ
    February 7, 2013 at 9:56 pm

    Hey sweetie, you are an amazing writer. I’ve read your stories and I still look in my rear view mirror after reading the last one. That’s a great writer……I believed it, I believe in you!

    • February 7, 2013 at 10:16 pm

      Hey you – thanks, DJ. It means a lot to me that you’re willing to put up with my time writing, and then read some of this stuff I throw at you. I consider it quite an accomplishment to have you still thinking about a story after you’ve read it. Kind of what you strive for as a writer. My hope is that you’ll react the same to everything I write. We’ll see πŸ™‚

  2. February 12, 2013 at 3:18 am

    That’s a great feeling, isn’t it? Enjoy it, because before long, you’ll have edited the novel so much, you’ll practically be able to recite it word for word. πŸ™‚

    Thanks for stopping by my site. I appreciate it.

    • February 14, 2013 at 8:29 pm

      You’re welcome, Carrie. I enjoy you blog. Looking forward to getting your book, too. Sounds like a great read.

  3. February 19, 2013 at 5:25 am

    I’m such a relentless rewriter that I end up not being able to see the story after a while. I’m afraid I suck the life out of it. That’s why I depend heavily on informed second opinions.

  4. February 21, 2013 at 7:39 am

    Hi Dave – just passing along an award to you. You can see it at my site or click on this link to go to it directly (http://wp.me/p2GfO1-bf.) Just wanted to say “hi” and “great job!”
    Sue

  5. February 25, 2013 at 8:52 pm

    Hey Dave! I certainly know what you mean, I have experienced this too – though not very often lol. The greatest thing about writing are the moments when we discover that we are actually good at what we do. I’m glad you had this experience, it reinforces why we must never give up! Brilliance is always around the next page.

  6. March 26, 2013 at 11:00 pm

    Hello Dave, Keep up your great work! I nominated you for a blog award. Check it out here! πŸ˜€ http://devinberglund-blog.com/2013/03/27/very-inspiring-blogger-award/

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

