Home > Goals, Short Story, Writing > Short story submitted: first writing goal of 2013 accomplished

Short story submitted: first writing goal of 2013 accomplished

So, I did it. I just submitted one of my short stories to Cemetery Dance Magazine.

Of course, this was only after my wife read through it several times for me and made some wonderful suggestions. I then spent days going over and over it to make sure it was as good as it could possibly be. Finally, after mustering all the nerve I could, I uploaded it to their submission site and pressed “send”. Off it went, into the submission slush pile.

While I hope for the best, I realize that my chances of getting selected are pretty slim. According to them, they get around 500 submissions per month, so the odds aren’t all that good, even if I wrote something that managed to get their attention. But, even though they will most likely pass on it, I still feel good about what I wrote and figure everyone has to deal with their share of rejections. After all, the world of writing is tough, so if I can’t handle some negative responses then I might as well stop writing.

To keep me busy while waiting to hear back, among other things I plan to polish another short that I think is pretty good. Their guidelines say they want only one submission at a time, but that it’s okay to submit a new story if a previously submitted story is rejected, so I plan to keep on submitting until they stop accepting.

I’ll provide an update when I hear something. If I get rejected, I’ll lick my wounds and submit another. Then, I’ll post the first short story here for those who would like to read it.

Wish me luck!

–dp

  1. DJ
    January 9, 2013 at 11:41 pm

    I am so proud of you. This is merely the beginning. You are an amazing writer and great things are yet to come. Love you.

    • January 10, 2013 at 8:55 am

      Thank you, sweetheart, for all your love and encouragement. I couldn’t do it without. Love you more …

  2. January 11, 2013 at 5:38 am

    Congratulations, Dave, and I’m sorry it took so long to swing by… been a crazy week.
    I’m glad to see you writing and posting again – and it sounds like you’re ready to tackle your goals! Wonderful! I wish you the best. sometimes, it feels a bit like winning the lottery, am I right? As to publishing – my buddie Kim over at mouthful of words (you can see the link on my side bar – I don’t like to include them in a comment) has announced that her editor has opened up submissions for an anthology of short stores (last one had a them of apolypse – this one is paranormal twist, I believe). You won’t get paid if picked, but have the credit for being published (it’s available on Amazon as an e-reader). Maybe check it out!
    My best to you-
    Sue

    • January 11, 2013 at 8:35 pm

      Hi Sue – glad you stopped by. Always happy to hear from you. Glad you’re over your crazy week šŸ™‚

      Yeah, this year is starting off well. Hope I can keep it up. It does seem like we’re all pretty much in the lottery system, but I suppose it’s just the way things happen, right?

      Just checked out your friend’s blog. I liked it. Looks like a good one to follow. I also checked out the link to the new anthology. I think I’ll give it a shot. I have a story that just might be suited for it. Or maybe I’ll come up with something new. We’ll have to see what happens. Thanks for the pointer. And I absolutely don’t care that it doesn’t pay. Just having a story somewhere is good enough for me šŸ™‚

      Take care …

      • January 12, 2013 at 6:12 am

        That’s right – you have to be lucky. But you also have to do the hard work. Like you are doing with setting and completing your goals.
        Go Dave!

  3. January 11, 2013 at 12:32 pm

    Congratulations! One down already, wow. I’d say you’ve set yourself up for an awesome year!

    • January 11, 2013 at 1:47 pm

      Thanks, Hanna. That’s what I’m hoping for!

  4. January 12, 2013 at 5:18 am

    Good for you! Although never easy, and always scary it’s important to saturate the community, get your name out there, submit, submit submit, and start making a name for yourself. Just by reading your blog, I could tell you have a great talent. You write beautifully – you really have no need to worry. Good luck! Thank you for visiting my blog, I look forward to discovering yours.

    • January 12, 2013 at 10:55 pm

      Thanks for visiting my blog and and for following, Kim. And thank you for the wonderful encouragement. It means a lot to hear a compliment from another writer. I’ve started reading through your blog and have thoroughly enjoyed it. Looking forward to your future posts and to reading your story (along with the others) in the Apocalypse anthology.

  5. January 16, 2013 at 10:11 am

    Hi again,
    Just wanted to say that I’ve nominated you for a super sweet blogging award. I really like your blog, and hope this award draws more attention to you, and your talent. To know more about it, check my blog. http://mouthfulofwords.wordpress.com/2013/01/16/tis-the-time-to-give-awards/

  6. January 24, 2013 at 5:13 am

    Best wishes!! I like your commitment to keep submitting until they ask you to stop…. That’s why I named my blog Queen of Query… I constantly query my work. It will happen…patience. Until then… Keep writing!

    • January 24, 2013 at 11:04 am

      Thanks, Hollie. You’re absolutely right. Persistence is the key in all of this, right? Best of luck in querying … I know it will pay off for you eventually. BTW – I like the idea of hiring an editor. Never done that before, but I might just try it out when I’m done editing my current book.

  7. January 27, 2013 at 10:34 am

    Rootin’ for you, Dave! I admire you. The short-story writer must be terribly impervious to rejection. The time and effort it takes into crafting a story — without the added benefit of pages to develop character — takes finesse and a whole lot of confidence. Good luck!

    ~ Cara

    • January 27, 2013 at 8:36 pm

      Thank you for the kind words, Cara. I’m hoping for some success in the short story world. None yet beyond getting the most votes for one piece of flash fiction. I do enjoy writing them, especially as a change of pace from writing book length stories. You have a lovely blog, and I enjoyed reading your most recent story. Best of luck to you, Cara!

  8. January 29, 2013 at 12:29 pm

    Good luck and congrats on putting yourself out there. It’s cool that your writing goals for 2013 is to submit short stories to magazines. That’s one of my goals too. For January, I already submitted to 3 magazines (already have back-ups in case they get rejected). For the rest of the year, I plan on writing and submitting 2 short stories every month. My writing group thought it’d be a good idea.

    Keep smiling,
    Yawatta

    • January 29, 2013 at 6:17 pm

      Thanks, Yawatta. And best of luck to you in getting your stories published. What I really need to do is find other magazines/publications accepting short stories and submit to them as well. Right now, I’ve limited myself to one, which is pretty much a surefire way to be disappointed šŸ™‚ You’ve got the right approach: more stories and more submissions. I have a feeling you’ll be successful!

  9. NyNy
    February 5, 2013 at 8:23 am

    Is it possible to maybe include ReadWave.com into your one of your posts or mention about this site so more short story writers can check it out?

    On ReadWave, you can build up an audience around your story by starting small writing short stories now and allowing your readers to download and share with others. If you are aiming to be an author, novelist or writer, this is a great way to start marketing your stories online. Please check out the site here: http://readwave.com or submissions@readwave.com

  10. May 10, 2013 at 9:15 pm

    Hi, Dave. Did you ever hear back about your Cemetery Dance submission? Best of luck!

    • May 14, 2013 at 9:18 pm

      Hi Aaron – Haven’t heard back yet. Hope to within the next month or so. Thanks for stopping by … And congratulations on becoming a member of the HWA! I hope to get there someday.

  11. May 24, 2013 at 4:38 pm

    Good luck! Make sure to blog about it when you hear back šŸ™‚

    • May 25, 2013 at 1:08 pm

      Thanks, Tracy. Either way, I definitely will pass along the news.

  12. June 28, 2013 at 6:56 pm

    Hey Dave, good luck with the submission. The only suggestion I have is to find other places to submit to. You are starting at the top. It would be like me starting a band, then saying, I’m booking a gig at Madison Square Garden. You could get lucky, but why try a ‘crap shoot’ when you can actually increase your chances? I would try Carnage Conservatory and MicroHorror.com (see my links page) build a name, learn editor pet peeves along the way, Do’s and Don’ts, what has already been published by them and everyone else. Some editors will tell you “We’ve got a run on Zombie love stories in the last two years, write something different” some won’t. Almost every story I ever had rejected got published somehwere else. One editor wouldn’t like it another would think it was great! just some suggestions šŸ™‚ hope you don’t mind.

    • June 28, 2013 at 8:18 pm

      I don’t mind at all, Michael. I’m just getting my feet wet again after a lengthy absence. Good advice like yours is always welcome, so thank you.

      I admit that I did start pretty high, but I figured, why not? Of course, I’d like to submit some stories to other places as well. I’ll take a closer look at those you mention, and perhaps some of the others you have listed.

      Thanks for taking the time to comment, pass along some tips, and encourage a fellow writer. Nice to get those every now and then. I’ll let you know how it all works out and what happens with some of those other sources.

  1. July 16, 2013 at 9:32 pm

Leave a Reply

