Home > Life, Writing > On NaNoWriMo 2012: An update for those who wonder

On NaNoWriMo 2012: An update for those who wonder

December 11, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

It’s December 12th. NaNoWriMo ended twelve days ago. On November 25th, I had reached over 42,000 words. The end was in sight. And then the world fell apart.

Late that Sunday night (the 25th), I received a phone call from sister that my father was in an ICU, suffering from double pneumonia. I left for the airport around midnight so I could make it to the hospital that following day. Later that week, on November 30th, my father passed away. I wrote about this in my personal blog, which you can read here if you want.

Needless to say, during those couple of weeks, NaNoWriMo was the last thing on my mind. Even now, in the grand scheme of things, it seems pretty unimportant. But the truth is, it would have been nice to finish this year so that I “won”. But considering all that has happened, I’m going to be nice and just give myself an honorary “win”. November will return again next year.

Now I just need to care about writing again. For the moment, the passion has waned. But I’m sure it will come back … eventually.

–dp

  1. December 12, 2012 at 12:25 am

    So sorry to hear about your loss. I second that honorary win.

    • December 12, 2012 at 10:08 am

      Thank you, Julianne. And thanks for taking the time to stop by …

  2. December 12, 2012 at 8:19 am

    I’m so sorry to hear about your loss, Dave. And you are right – in the grand scheme of things, your family is more important than anything. And honestly, NaNoWriMo is whenever you want it to be – anytime you can crank out that as many words as you did in less than a month, any month, you’ve won. So congratulations! Keep up the awesome work πŸ™‚

    • December 12, 2012 at 10:33 am

      Hi Hannanh – thank you for all the kinds words, and the encouragement. You are right … family is absolutely the first and most important thing. I like your idea of making NaNoWriMo be whenever I want it. I think if I can adopt the mindset that NaNoWriMo tries to enforce, that writing regularly with goals in mind, and letting one’s imagination take over, I can be way more productive as a writer.

      For now, I’m just trying to get back into the swing of things. I feel behind on everything, including blog reading (let alone writing).

  3. kanundra
    December 15, 2012 at 2:06 am

    So sorry that in the midst of Nov, such a tragedy happened for you and your family. Life can be really awful. I think your honourary ‘win’ was a must and you deserve a break. There will always be next time. And if you want to create your own, I am sure there are some of us out there wil will join you on the quest. Take care of yourself. Writing will wait. πŸ™‚

    • December 25, 2012 at 6:17 pm

      Thank you, Dawn. You’re right, there will always be a next time, and I do feel good about my win, even if it was honorary πŸ™‚ I’ll let you know if I decide to try out another month of literary abandon sometime before November of next year … thanks for the support.

  4. December 24, 2012 at 3:20 pm

    it sounds like you’re giving yourself time to grieve – the one thing I’m learning about writing and the creative process is to listen and follow the inner prompts. There’s a time and place for everything- and sometimes a time to do nothing at all.
    With two elderly parents, I can honestly say I dread the day that’s to come when I get that call. I hope you find peace in this holiday season.
    My best to you-
    Sue

    • December 25, 2012 at 6:21 pm

      Thanks for the kind words, Sue. They are appreciated. I’ve taken a bit of time off from writing over the holidays and just spent time celebrating the season and time with family. I guess nothing can prepare you for the call that will come someday. About all you can do is spend as much time with them as you can, love them, and hope the call is far, far in the future. Don’t let anything go unsaid, which is one of my biggest regrets.

      Hope your holiday has been a wonderful one …

      • December 26, 2012 at 5:26 am

        We thought this would be our first Christmas where my mom didn’t visit. She loves watching the kids unwrap the presents. It sent my older, teenage daughter into a funk. I was so amazed when she popped out of her lethargy to drive an hour to pick up her gram – she needed to see her that badly.
        You’re right about spending time with them and not letting anything go unsaid. Precious memories were made yesterday. One’s I’ll treasure forever.
        Thanks for the holiday wishes – I hope the same for you!
        Sue

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

