Home > Writing > NaNoWriMo 2012 – Day 20

NaNoWriMo 2012 – Day 20

November 21, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

As George Takei would say, “Ohh Myy!”. It’s been twenty days of frenzied tapping on my keyboard, trying to keep up with the 1,667 words per day minimum. So far, I’ve been pretty successful. As of tonight, my current word count is 34,024, which is about a thousand words ahead of the pace.

Now I will admit that I’m cheating a bit this year. By that I mean I’m not actually working on one novel exclusively. For now, I’m working on two different books, adding to one or the other as mood and/or creativity strikes me. But who knows? By November 30th, maybe I’ll add to/start another one. For now, though, it’s just the two. I realize that NaNoWriMo purists will look down upon this approach as not in keeping with the true spirit of the event, but I’m okay with that. In the end, I’ll have fifty thousand new words, and that’s 50K more than I had prior to November 1st. As for whether any of those fifty thousand words will be of much use, I can only guess. But the effort has certainly greased up the wheels of creativity and sped up these fingers of mine. Funny how that works.

The month of November has also found me trying to wrap up a few stories that I hope to submit to Cemetery Dance magazine later this year, or possibly early next year, depending on when they open up for new submissions. Thanks to my wonderful wife, Debbie, I’ve gone through several revisions of one particular story. I believe it’s done, at least for the time being, so I’ve set it aside while I continue other work. No hints on the content of the story, but I will tell you the title: Detective’s Lament. Also, I’m just about finished revising another story. Once I’m done, I’ll hand it over to Debbie for her to look over. It’s currently entitled: The Mostly Come Out At Night. After that, I have one final story to edit. Then I’ll just have to hurry up and wait.

I must give kudos to Debbie. She has been awesome. She’s supported my writing efforts all the way and put up with this crazy month of November, where I hole up in my office even more than usual. And so far, she’s proven to be a great reviewer. She’s caught quite a few mistakes, and she’s been willing to tell me when something is clunky or just doesn’t work. About all she hasn’t done yet is tell me that my story sucks. Perhaps that will happen with the next one 🙂

So far, November writing has gone really well, and I’m pretty happy with how it’s all turning out. The rest of the week will find me diligently tapping out my required words, celebrating thanksgiving with friends and family, and taking a bit of time off to watch some football. After that, one final push to the end of November and 50K words and finishing up those short stories.

Good luck to all you other NaNoWriMo-ers out there. And happy thanksgiving!

–dp

Categories: Writing Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

