Home > Uncategorized, Writing > On writing: the reality

On writing: the reality

November 14, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

I follow a blog written by a guy named Jeff Goins. It’s a great writing blog and I highly recommend it to anyone who wants advice about writing and how to achieve your writing goals. A while back, he posted a list about what he called, “What Everybody Ought To Know About Writing” It’s short and sweet and nails the writing life right on the head. I dedicate it to anyone who has ever told themselves it would be really easy to write a book (oh, if only it were true).

It’s hard.
It’s harder than you think.
It never gets easier (but it does get better).
It’s scarier than it should be (but not too bad once you start).
It’s the last thing you want to do when it’s the first thing you should do.
It’s usually pretty thankless (especially when you’re doing it right).
It’s easy to begin, hard to continue, and even harder to finish.
It’s never enough; you can always do more.
It can be painful.
It’s hard.

For those of you who have actually sat your butt in a chair and attempted to write anything, I’m pretty sure you’ll agree with this list. Perhaps the only thing missing is what I would consider to be the real last item.

It’s one of the most rewarding things you can do.

It’s true. At least for me, that is. I find that it’s kind of like running. The actual running part is hard work, and not necessarily something I want to do or that’s easy to do. But, after I run, I feel absolutely amazing. Well, the same with writing. When I’ve completed an evening of writing, and laid all those words out on a “blank” page, I feel that same sense of accomplishment.

How do you feel after you’ve spent time writing?

–dp

Categories: Uncategorized, Writing Tags: , ,
  1. November 14, 2012 at 11:03 pm

    You’ve hit the nail right on the head for me. I’m currently in the limbo of knowing I should start my novel, and just not getting the motivation to do it. I get moments of eagerness at inopportune times, and so far it’s just not happening. I know it will happen, I just need to get over it. I tried to explain it to someone, as writing being like a rollercoaster. You wait in the line, knowing you’re going to get onto this scary death-trap, trying to talk yourself out of it, and sometimes you just don’t go for it. But when you force yourself to get strapped in, it’s not so bad. It can be fun, and usually when you get off the ride, you’re buzzing and you feel awesome. It’s the anxiety and fear before the rollercoaster that makes me turn away a lot of the time. I guess I need to learn how to bite the bullet!

    • November 15, 2012 at 10:15 am

      Hi Kyra – I know how you feel. I struggle with all of those things as well. There are times I’m on fire with my writing, and times I can barely hunt and peck across the keyboard to get a few words done because it just seems too difficult. Ultimately, though, the fun and reward of writing eventually wins out and I keep on going. So, just go ahead and bit that bullet and dive in!

      • November 15, 2012 at 4:38 pm

        Totally! It’s great to know that pretty much all writers go through this weird patchyness with writing. It takes the edge off the guilt!

  2. November 14, 2012 at 11:53 pm

    I agree with you Dave, 120%!!!! Writing is HARD!!!!! (P.S. I love Jeff’s blog! It’s a great writer’s resource!)

    • November 15, 2012 at 10:19 am

      Hi Devin – nice to hear from you. It’s comforting to know that there are other writers out there who struggle at times, and who also have to put in hard work to create their stories. Despite all that, though, it’s definitely worth it in the end.

      • November 15, 2012 at 3:50 pm

        Yeah! 🙂 It’s definitely comforting to know you are not alone in it all. Hope your writing is going good!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

