Home > Writing > On writing: NaNoWriMo 2012 – day 10

On writing: NaNoWriMo 2012 – day 10

November 10, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

Day 10.

One third of the way through the month of November and I’m at just a shade under 20K words. Not bad. I’m pretty happy with that. If I keep up the pace that means I’ll have around 60K words in one month. If only I could write that many words every month. Never mind that what I’ve written so needs a crap load of editing, and that a portion of it will just end up going into the bit bucket. The point is getting the words out on “paper”, and that I’ve been able to do. It’s also a great way to “grease the wheel”, so to speak. When you find yourself placing your butt in your chair each day and hammering out words, it does, over the course of the 30 days, help you get in the habit of writing consistently. And, it even begins to make it easier to get those words out. Ultimately, that’s the whole point of NaNo. So for me, so far, it’s working.

As an update to what it is I’m actually working on, I’m currently splitting my time between two novels. One that I’ve been working on for quite a while and hoping to finish up, and another one that I started but hadn’t worked on in a long time. It’s kind of nice to split the work like this. Depending on my mood, I can work on one novel if I have some good ideas going. Otherwise, I can shift over to the other one and work on it. So far, so good.

Now, back to it …

–dp

Categories: Writing Tags: ,
  1. November 13, 2012 at 7:43 am

    I am nodding at everything you just said!

    I was listening (watching) other people talking about NaNo in a chat room recently and one person was really down on it (I want good writing, not just words for the sake of words). I didn’t get into an argument with her, everyone has their opinion and what works for them and that’s okay. But for me, NaNo helps me just get the words on paper. Once they’re out there, I can work with them. But if I to write *good stuff* right off, I will never write anything. I like Nora Roberts quote “I can edit a bad page, but I can’t edit a blank page” (or something like that.) Good for you sticking with it! I think you’re ahead of me. I need to buddy you on the account I’m using. If you get a notification from “Tara” that’s me. (You’re ddp, right?)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

