Home > Writing > On writing: overcoming writer’s block

On writing: overcoming writer’s block

I’ve been struggling with writer’s block for months now, barely dabbling on my most recent WIP whenever I could briefly unstick the cogs of creativity in my brain. Seriously, it’s felt like someone filled my brain with paste. I was at a loss as to how to clear out the glue that had effectively clogged my synapses. But this weekend I take heart in the possibility that my mind, thoughts, and fingers might have finally come unglued (in a good way, of course).

Yesterday, a relaxing Saturday without any real chores to do or things to think about, I sat down in front of my computer and began doing the usual: read news, check facebook, read blogs, check facebook, surf and repeat until time has been wasted. You know, all those things we tend to do to avoid opening up the manuscript and actually typing. Finally, though, I opened up Scrivener (an amazing piece of software for writers available for a ridiculously low price) and loaded up my current work.

There it was, staring me in the face, daring me to type even one word. Despite the fact that I really liked all that I’d already written, for the life of me it felt like chains were holding down my arms, making it impossible to reach the keyboard. But this time, I persisted, because somewhere deep down inside, I could feel things loosening up. And more importantly, I had an idea in my head that I wanted to get down on paper. And I liked the idea.

I typed a sentence, paused, then typed another sentence or two. I reread what I’d just written.

Good stuff. Keep it up, Dave.

So I did. And I kept typing words until I was, dare I say it, writing! It felt good, but in a strange sort of way. It was kind of like waking up from a deep sleep, when your head is still a bit foggy and you feel like a long stretch is needed before you can fully wake up. Well, this weekend, I began to wake up from a lengthy writer’s nap that’s had me floored for way too long. All told, I managed to write over one thousand words. That’s something I’ve haven’t been able to do in long, long time.

Do I now know the secret to beating writer’s block? No. But I think I can at least take solace in knowing that if — or perhaps that should be when — it does strike me again (and it will), persistence is all that will be needed. It’s the only thing guaranteed to (eventually) lift me out of that dreaded literary black hole that devours one’s creativity and imagination.

For now, I can say that it feels good to be back … finally.

One hundred K down, twenty to go.

–dp

Categories: Writing Tags:
  1. DJ
    May 20, 2012 at 11:46 pm

    Way to go, babe. I believe in you and I know how passionate you are about writing. Keep up the good work and before you know it, it will be finished. Love you

    • May 21, 2012 at 12:49 pm

      Thanks, sweetie, for always being there and supporting me, not just in writing but everything. Love you more šŸ™‚

  2. June 6, 2012 at 9:35 pm

    Really nice post, Dave. Like the self-talk! I think that little voice can be the cure to a lot of writer’s block. First and foremost, we cast the Block upon ourselves, it seems.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

