Home > Writing > Sometimes it’s the little things

Sometimes it’s the little things

Recently, I read an author’s blog post about the first thing he did when he decided to get serious about writing. I found it interesting that what he chose to do had nothing at all to do with the craft of writing. Instead, he took an action that was symbolic, something that served to remind him each and every day of the “why” behind what he was doing when he sat behind his desk, dutifully typing away word after word. I think anyone attempting to create a work of fiction of any substantial length, at various points along the way, needs encouragement and, as simple as it seems, a small reminder of exactly what it is they are all about.

So I took that writer’s advice and took the plunge; I purchased what every wannabe writer should have sitting on his desk. A few days and a few dollars later, I have a writing space that says it all.

 

My Writing Space

Yeah, I know it’s corny. But you know what? It’s kinda cool when I can look down from my late night typing and see that small reminder of why I’m sitting at my computer instead of doing, well, just about anything else. Sometimes that’s all it takes. Other times? Well, I’ll save that for a future post.

–dp

Categories: Writing
  1. April 18, 2014 at 12:35 pm

    Excellent mug! I might have to snare one of those for myself. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

