Home > Family > Sentimentality

Sentimentality

The older I get, the more easily touched I am by such things as songs or movies. Sounds cliche, but it’s true. I think universally so, but I don’t know that for sure. Anyway, several weeks back I heard a song that instantly caught my ear. At first, it was only because of the guitar picking intro. After that, though, it was the lyrics.

The theme is universal, and most likely applies to everyone at some point in their lives. Though I’m sure there are those with no positive memories of childhood, I think most of us have, however briefly, allowed our minds to wander back in time to when we were a kid, to thoughts about the home we grew up in. Though particular words used in this song may not apply to each person who listens to it, I think there enough common threads throughout it to evoke similar feelings we all share.

Listen to the song.

How did it make you feel? Happy? Sad? Were you touched at all, or did you just consider it yet another song? For me, it brought back many happy memories. Not that life growing up was perfect, not by a long shot. But then, there aren’t many households that aren’t dysfunctional to some degree or another. But I had parents who loved me, and a wonderful brother and sister, and a dog, and we all grew up together in what I consider to be the house that built me.

After I listened to the song a few times, I started thinking about our family’s old Super 8 movies and how this song might make great background music for it. Though there were only a couple of hours worth of film shot over the many years we lived in our childhood home, there were, surprisingly, a great many shots to pull from to create a video montage of most of our growing-up years. Fortunately, my dad was smart enough to get all the old films transferred to DVD a few years ago, so all I had to do was load up the DVD, rip it, and start creating.

So I spent several hours over the course of a week cutting together a three and a half minute short film, and I’m very proud of the end result. I shared it with my family and all have had the same reactions to it that I have. They loved the opportunity, however brief, to look back and enjoy our time spent together, both good and bad. At least for us kids, it really was what defined us as human beings.

For anyone interested in seeing the family video, send me an e-mail and I’ll give you the URL.

–dp

Categories: Family
  1. July 29, 2011 at 12:36 am

    Oh Dave, when you wrote about a song, I wondered if it was this one. I must confess, I cried the first time I heard it. I was actually driving around my old neighborhood at the time and thought about how that home was the only childhood home I ever really had because I moved so much.

    Sometimes, just like the song says, I drive by it and think about asking the people who own it if I can go inside for a minute. But I don’t think people in Northern California are as hospitable and sentimental as southern folk, so I keep my distance and tell my children all about the House That Built Me.

    • July 29, 2011 at 3:17 am

      That’s too funny. For some reason, I just assumed you would never have heard the song before. It’s kind of hard to think anyone could listen to it and not be affected in some way. And yes, I doubt California folk would take kindly to a knock on the door from some random person who says they used to live in their house. I’d love to do that to the House That Built Me. Maybe someday …

  1. March 10, 2014 at 9:38 am

Leave a Reply

